Sundays Delight

Hello everyone, happy Sunday!

I am back again with this week’s meal, and it’s a special called Sunday’s delight” I am sure you are all wondering why? Back when I was young, I always look forward to lunch on Sundays, because that meant chicken, jollof rice and dodo! I didn’t even mind that the next day was Monday, all my mind could think of was the special lunch. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€

Now I still cherish those special meals, but I then decided that, it shouldn’t have to be be the same style of food, I can change it. For example when we go to party’s a lot of us can’t wait for the rice, chicken, dodo, and all the works. And I thought to myself, it’s not every weekend that I attend parties, so why should I wait until I attend a party to eat the various type of food they serve? All the special of specials. Nope, I think not.

So I went back to my roots. I still prepared the same dish, but this time, with a twist. My chicken doesn’t have to be stewed anymore, it can be grilled! My fried plantain doesn’t have to be plain, it can be Duchess special. Yes that’s right I said Duchess special. 😊

Ingredients
A of bunch of plantain ( this could be 4 or 5)
1 Red pepper
1 Green pepper
1 Yellow pepper
6 Fryer chicken
4 tablespoon of Ketchup
3 tablespoon of piri piri sauce
Half an onion
3 table spoon of barbecue sauce
1 Clove of garlic
2 table spoon of olive oil.

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 1 hour 10 minutes

Overall time: 1 hour 20 minutes

Utensils:
Blender
Tablespoon
Frying pan
Foil paper
Grilling or oven tray

Please note: the above will serve 6 people

I went to the supermarket, got some chicken (fryer chicken, it’s great for grilling and it’s kind to our teeth! Trust me you don’t want to be struggling with chicken meat). I also bought mixed peppers (yellow, green and red) and plantain. The marinade ingredients I already had at home, so that saved me time at the supermarket. But however for those who don’t have all the ingredients at home, please go and buy it.πŸ˜€

Grilling your chicken. please please note, you can’t shortcut the process. The marinade has to be infused, or else, you could end up eating chicken and ketchup. Funny, but that’s the truth.

This process below should be done on Saturday.

I have a special marinade I use, ( ketchup, red pepper, onions, garlic, barbecue mix, piri piri sauce and olive oil) I blend all the ingredients together until smooth) I lacerate the chicken( see picture below) and I add the sauce into the cut part. This will ensure the chicken absorbs the sauce and infuse well) I also lift up the skin, please do not use a sharp knife to get under the skin, it will only make the chicken shrink while grilling. Use your fore finger to separate the skin and rub the sauce under it, once done, put the skin back. Put the chicken into a bowl, cover with a cling film and refrigerate overnight.

Sunday:

Set your oven to about 180 degrees and let it heat up for about 5 minutes. This will ensure even heat distribution.

Wash and cut your peppers into large stripes, ensure that the peppers have been de seeded. Take out a grilling tray, put a foil paper on it, then arrange the peppers onto the tray and add the remaining marinade for the chicken on top of the pepper( see picture below) take out your chicken and place it on top of the peppers, pop it into the oven and grill for about 25minutes.

After 25 minutes , check the chicken, it should be nicely brown, turn it over and let the other side cook for anther 20 minutes. Please no short cuts! Ensure your chicken is well cooked, in order to avoid salmonella.

Take your plantain, remove the skin, slice into two halves, then cut each halves into to two stripes and finally cut it into cubes. Heat up your oil and fry the plantain until brown. Remove from the frying pan, place a kitchen towel into a bowl, and add the plantain. This will help in soaking up the excess oil.

Now back to the chicken, once it’s cooked on both sides, turn up the heat to about 200 degrees, and let it brown nicely. Don’t leave your chicken, keep checking or else it will burn. 😞

Once the chicken is properly grilled, you will also notice that your peppers are nicely grilled and shiny. Shiny from the oil the juice of the grilled chicken Remove the chicken and set aside. Mix your fried plantain with the grilled pepper sauce and heat it up for 2 minutes. Switch off the oven and take out your special duchess mix. I call it the duchess mix, just because I like the sound of it.😊

Serve with either jollof rice or fried rice or even white rice. Trust me the next time you go to a party, you will just think, oh, nothing really new, I had that last week. 😊😊

That’s it from me. Pictures below.

catch you all next week.

Love Duchess O

src=”https://duchess001.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/20130506-143359.jpg” alt=”20130506-143359.jpg” class=”alignnone size-full” />

20130506-143857.jpg

20130506-143909.jpg

20130506-143914.jpg

20130506-143918.jpg

2 thoughts on “Sundays Delight

Leave a Reply

