Frejon

Hi guys. How are you all doing today? Easter is around the corner,  and as usual I like to keep all my lovely blog readers up to date.

Frejon is a meal that is eaten on easter friday (good friday). The first time I had a taste of this meal was when one of my mum’s friend brought it over to ours. At first I was like whay is this?! And she explained that its frejon. 

I was still perplexed. I asked what is frejon? And she proceeded to explain what frejon is made off.

Whe explained the process and what it’s eaten with. She also brought fresh croaker fish with it. I decided to try it, and boy onh boy… The taste was amazing.& I could taste the hint of some spices, I asked her and she said it was cloves. 

I could also taste something creamy and see said it was coconut milk. At that point I was intrigued.

I also noticed that it was sweet as well, she laughed at that point, because all I kept on saying was that I noticed…. this and that. Thats how my journey of being fascinated with frejon began. 

There are various types of beans used. Apparently you had to use black beans. I searched for it and I must say it was too black and it was much darker than the one I ate. 

I decided to look for dark brown beans, same type of beans used for normal cooked beans. And trust me it turned out perfect. So mo need to look for an extra special beans. I was so excited hehehe ; ) 

The idea is to use less coconut milk in the mixture, or else it will be too light in colour. The idea is to flavour it with coconut and not over power it

Ok,lets get started shall we πŸ™‚ 

INGREDIENTS : Frejon 

  • Beans ( I used the normal brown beans) 
  • Coconut milk 
  • Coconut water 
  • Cloves 
  • Nutmeg (optional ) 
  • 1 teaspoon of Sugar 
  • Small onions 
  • White pepper (optional)

INGREDIENTS: Fish Stew/Sauce
Fresh Fish of your choice (I prefer Hake, because it’s firm)

  •  2 large Tatashe Pepper 
  • 3 large Tomatoes 
  • 2 Habenero peppers 
  • Fish seasoning 
  • Curry 
  • Thyme 
  • White pepper 
  • Fish stock 
  • Onions 
  • 1/8 cup of Vegetable oil 
  • Mixed sliced peppers 

 UTENSILS : 

  • Blender 
  • Medium sized pot 
  • Sauce pan 

Prep time : 3 hours (picking and soaking)
Cooking time : 2 hours
Total time: 5 hours (don’t be alarmed, you are cooking both for 2 hours) 

Method: 

Chop the peppers, tomatoes and onions. Blend until smooth. Set aside 

Rinse the soaked beans until the water is clear. Pour the beans into a medium sized pot, add the onions and boiled water. 

Tip:this is the beans I used.  (Credit: Google images) 
Cook for 1 hour : 15 minutes 

Duchess O Tips* boiled water speeds up the cooking process. This will only work if you soak the beans in well enough time and you use hot water to start the cooking process*  

Next clean and gut the fish, rub a little salt on it and set it aside. 

In a deep frying pan or wok, heat up 1 tablespoon of oil. 

Next add onions, mixed peppers and 1 teaspoon of fish seasoning. Fry until the onions becomes translucent. 

 Edit   

Next add the blended pepper and tomato puree. Reduce the heat and let it simmer on low heat for 20 minutes. 

After 20 minutes, add the fish (put into the sauce one by one) and then add the remaining seasoning. 
Shake the pan together to ensure the fish is well coated with the sauce. Continue to cook for another 10 minutes. 

Editο»Ώ*Duchess O Tip* do not stir the fish in the sauce, it will cause the fish to scatter and break into the sauce* 

After 10 minutes check on the fish, it should be solid and well cooked. Remove from the heat and set aside (you can place it in the oven to keep warm) 


Check on the beans, it should be cooking nicely. Add more hot water as you cook along, so that it doesnt cook dry. (Remember you need the beans to have its own paste like form to enable smooth blending) 


I also added the coconut water at this stage as I wanted it to start taking in the flavour. 

ο»Ώο»Ώ


After 1 hour : 15 minutes. 

Remove the beans from the heat. Let it cool off a bit. (We don’t want to spoil the blender or food processor do we ,) 

After 15 minutes, 

Pour the beans into the blender add the coconut milk and blend until smooth. 

I used homemade coconut milk (i grated fresh coconut and soak it in warm water to get the milk)



After blending, add back to the pot, you need to start stirring in order to avoid splattering. Add the remaining coconut water and simmer for 5 minutes. 


Now for the important part of the dish. Add the cloves,(the grounded one is much nicer) nutmeg and sugar. 

 

 Nutmeg 

I used less sugar as I dont like sugar that much. You can use more if you so desire. 

Stir and let it cook for 5 minutes. 

And its ready. 

Your Frejon is ready. πŸ˜ƒ

I served it with the delicious fish sauce
It was oh so amazing. I even decided to leave out the garri whilst eating it. 

The sauce made it delicious.

There you go. 

 Edit

  

  
So at any point in time you want to eat this, it is there ready and waiting on my blog. 

Thats it from me today. 

I’ll see you all in my next post.

Love Duchess O

6 thoughts on “Frejon

    1. Cloves is a spices. Cloves can be used whole or ground to impart a strong sweet but spicy and peppery flavour so should be used in moderation to avoid over seasoning. Ask your local supermarket that sell spices.

      Like

Leave a Reply

