Afang

Hi guys. How are you all doing? So I have been told that I need to conquer my fear of traditional soups. Lol. I know there isn’t a lot at the moment on the blog, but after talking to some of my friends, they decided to share some of their native soup recipes with me.

I have been skeptical about trying it because of the fear of ingredients. But they have put me at ease and I actually did find the ingredients at my local shop and I was amazed by how much of the ingredients they had.

I guess because my mind has always been in the items that I came to buy, I never bothered to check. But in am glad to say that is all history now. *skipping and dancing*)

I have loads of recipes at my disposal to share with you and I will be updating them with you. 😉

Ok. Lets get started shall we 🙂

INGREDIENTS :

  • 1 bunch of Okazi leaves
  • Half a bunch of Water leaves
  • Assorted meats
  • Dry fish
  • Stock fish
  • Smoked turkey (optional)
  • Smoked crayfish
  • Cray fish
  • Pepper
  • Palmoil

Utensils:
Medium sized pot
Blender

Prep time:15 minutes
Cooking time:

Method.

If you are using dry okazi leaves like me, soak it in hot water for 15 minutes.

Boil the meats. Boil with blended onions and salt. Cook until soft.

Whilst it’s almost cooked, add the dry fish(es) and smoked turkey. Cook until the fish is soft.

Once the stock is ready, add the blended pepper and palmoil. I only used one as I am very particular about not cooking with a lot of oil. Less is more and it will still taste great.

IMG_0436.JPG
IMG_0435.JPG

Allow the oil to be cooked, in order not to have a curdling taste on the tongue.

  
Next add the chopped water leaves. I used a frozen one.

  
Allow the water leaves to cook for about 4 minutes and blend with the stock.

After 4 minutes, add the blended okazi leaves. And let it cook until the okazi has completely dissolved into the soup. It will noticeably get darker, so don’t be alarmed. That’s the effect of the blended okazi.

IMG_0437.JPG

IMG_0441.JPG
  
Finally add the crayfish. Allow it dissolve completely into the soup. 

  
That’s it all done. I can’t believe I have been so worried about cooking this. And if you notice I didn’t add any more salt or stock cube. The stock has already set a pace for the soup and the crayfish, just perfects it.

There you go. Afang soup for your eating pleasure. Eat this with eba or swallow of your choice.

  
That’s it’s from me today

Enjoy! 

I will see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O
   
   

Leave a Reply

