Ila Alasepo (Seafood mix)

Yum yum yum! Lol. Pardon me.

Hi guys, how are you all doing today?

This recipe has always been a favorite of mine. My mum always cooked it every other Saturday amd I always looked forward to it. I was going down memory lane when I remembered the soup. Mum had always prepared it with hot amala. As in the very light and fluffy one. I still remember the crunchiness of the ugu. It balances the almost softness of the okro well.

I remembered when I particularly scooped alot of hot amala and the soup. Looool. I dropped it with so much force because it was really hot and light. Lol. I was enjoying the soup that I forgot to take caution. (Ah the eja gbibe, smoked prawns, assorted meat… oh i even remember the one with crabs) God bless my Mum! She taught me very well at an early age to cook. Whilst she supervised. I have her to thank today and always for my love of cooking. Ok then, enough of my stories, lets get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :

  • Assorted meat (tripe, hide, beef, cow leg or any combo of your choice)
  • Fresh Crabs (not frozen)
  • Fresh Prawns
  • Smoked prawns
  • Tatashe
  • Habanero peppers
  • Okra
  • Ugu
  • Onions
  • Knorr cube

UTENSILS :
2 medium sized pots
Grater
Wooden spoon
Colander

Prep time : 15 minutes
Cooking time : 45 minutes (that is if your beef had already been pre cooked)
Total time : 1 hour

Method :
If your meat isnt boiled yet. Wash it to remove any excess skin and dirts. Place it in a pot, add the knorr cube, salt and blended onions. Blended onions makes a whole lot of difference.

* if your beef has already been boiled then move on to the next stage which is

20140723-140738-50858391.jpg

Rinse the okro properly. Even if it looks clean, please rinse it well.

Next grate the okro and set it aside. I always like to grate okro. Its therapeutic for me. If you don’t like grating, chop it up nicely.

Blend the peppers.

20140723-141029-51029729.jpg

Sieve the cooked beef to remove the film from the stock.

20140723-140436-50676703.jpg

Add the blended pepper and allow it to cook with the beef for 20 minutes.

20140723-141153-51113178.jpg

After 20 minutes, add the dry fish. Allow to cook for 10 minutes

20140723-141834-51514195.jpg

After 10 minutes, add the crayfish and allow it to dissolve into the soup.

20140723-141418-51258292.jpg

Next add the crabs and prawns. (For the prawns I left the covering scale on deliberately as it creates another way of enjoying this meal πŸ™‚ but I however cut the back to remove the veins. As the veins is not neant to be a eaten)

20140723-142016-51616628.jpg

20140723-142016-51616840.jpg

Cook it for 7 minutes in order to allow it permeate the stock.

20140723-142254-51774166.jpg

Next add the washed ugu. ( I added it at this stage as I wanted to leach out the water at this stage. I want the okro to draw very well. Cook for 5 minutes (sorry I forgot to take a picture)

Finally add the okro. Mix thoroughly with the soup. Allow it to be well incorporated into the soup. Leave it to cook (PLEASE DO NOT COVER THE POT) or else the okro will loose its elasticity.

20140723-142633-51993263.jpg

Once its all cooked properly, add the final tablespoon of crayfish, turn amd then remove from the heat and set aside. 

The heat from the soup will dissolve the crayfish and give it that umph flavour. The great thing about this soup is that you dont need alot of flavours interfering with the soup, once.you get it right with the stock, you are good to go.

  
Its all ready to be served.

Enjoy my Mum’s Ila asepo πŸ™‚   

 I also have the efik version that will be posted on my blog shortly. Been so busy to post it
Its called Otong soup. Also tasty and satisfying. Check it out

That’s it from me today.

please dont forget to like our Facebook page Duchess O Kitchen

Follow me on Twitter

I’ll see you all in my next post.

Love Duchess O

4 thoughts on “Ila Alasepo (Seafood mix)

Leave a Reply

