Ofe akwu

Yes yes yes! I have decided to finally add this to my blog. Lol. For a while I have been adding it to a back log of recipes. Why. Its the oil in this soup that really scares me. Most people tell me it has to be dripping in oil.  So that put me off. But I thought to myself isn’t that Banga soup? This is meant to be eaten with rice, so I am sure it’s meant to be thicker and not too oily. I asked My friend from Anambra to clear the confusion. 

Awwww my friend said no. She then went on to elaborate. She said this version is thicker, hence less room for the oil to float. She said the soup is allowed to get thicker not watery. The watery version is Banga soup, which is cooked in a different way, which allows the oil to float. So basically this version, the  cream is utilised more than the original known version  .

I tell you I heaved a sigh of relief as I was so worried. Loool. So I went ahead and got all the ingredients needed for this amazing soup.

Oh forgive me guys. How are you all doing today? I hope you are all doing good? 🙂

Ok, lets get started shall we 🙂

INGREDIENTS

  • Palm nut concentrate (I used Nigeria banga palm nut)
  • Assorted beef parts
  • Crayfish
  • Dry fish
  • Stock fish
  • Salt
  • Onions
  • 3 yellow Habanero peppers
  • A handful of Dried basil(efinrin or scent leaves)
  • A handful of Fresh basil
  • Ugu (optional)

UTENSILS :

  • 2 medium sized pot
  • Wooden spoon

Prep time : nil
Cooking time : 2 hours
Total time : 2 hours

Method :
Boil the meats until it is all tender.

Closer to when the meat is about to get done, add in all the fish (es)

20140517-163731.jpg

The addition of the dry fish et al intensifies the flavour of stock. It also makes you add less of stock cube. Which I noticed and it was a pleasant discovery. My friend said it forms a good base for the soup as the stock is always the most important part. If you get it wrong from the stock, it won’t be great at the final stage of cooking.

20140517-163731.jpg

One the fish is soft almost to the point of it degenerating, add the iru. 

The recipe calls for ogiri which Indidn’t have to hand, so I made a quick substitute. 

Reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes to permeate the stock. (The kitchen may smell, but trust me it’s nothing compared to what it will do to the flavour and taste of the soup. 😉

20140517-163840.jpg

Whilst the Iru is cooking with the meat, blend the pepper.

After 5 minutes, add the blended pepper. 

Allow it to boil for 12 minutes. This reduces the sharpness of the pepper in the stew and it also forms the third stage of the stock.

20140517-163942.jpg

Next add the palmnut cream

20140517-164327.jpg

20140517-164334.jpg

Let the palmnut cream slowly dissolve into the stock, and then stir gently so that it is well incorporated.

 Then cook uninterrupted for 20 minutes. This will be the first stage of cooking. Reduce the heat to medium so that the tanginess of the palmnut will not be present. I used less palm nut cream as I was trying to keep it clean. Lol

20140517-164553.jpg

20140517-164608.jpg

Check on the soup, it should be thickening, if it isn’t just increase the heat but keep a close eye on it or else it will start burning. Then add the crayfish and cook for 2 minutes.

20140517-165213.jpg

Next add about a spoonful of dried basil and half a handful of fresh basil. (I didn’t remember to take a picture of the fresh basil before adding it to the soup, but it is very visible in the picture below)

Oh my the smell that will fill your kitchen will wow your senses like….you won’t be able to comprehend . lol I am serious. I was impressed. So this is what I have been missing all these while. :oops::oops:

20140517-165333.jpg

20140517-165340.jpg

Let it simmer for a few minutes and then remove from the heat.

20140517-165608.jpg
Yep yep. A round of aplause to you. You are done. 🙂

My friend Awelz I hope I did you proud o. Respect to the People of Anambra. You sure know how to cook up a storm! 👏👏🙌

So here it is my lovely readers.

20140517-165716.jpg

It can be served with rice, because this is the thicker version of banga soup. Watch out for my other Banga recipe.

More pictures

20140517-165821.jpg

Looks yummy doesn’t it 🙂

20140517-165826.jpg

That’s it from me today. Watch out for my next post Dedicated to my Lovely Ijebus ❤️ (I am Ijebu by the way 😉

Love Duchess O

Copyright © 2013
© Duchess O Kitchen and Duchess001.wordpress.com (2013). Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Duchess O Kitchen and Duchess001.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
P.S. State clearly the correct link to the blog. ALSO note that all contents, both Written and Video, Images and all other Materials is subject to Copyright Law

2 thoughts on “Ofe akwu

Leave a Reply

