Obe ata din din ati Dundun

Hello everyone.  How are you all doing today? I hope you all had a great bank holiday?  I know I did and I also cooked loads of dishes. πŸ™‚

I will be updating the blog very soon. So today’s recipe has been remixed various ways. I have had this before as spicy beef stew, but I wanted something a little bit different.

Obe ata din din as I remember it has always been spicy. I remember when I used to buy dun dun (Fried yams) they always had this sauce to go with it. As in the fried yam was not complete without it.

Ah those days, will then wash it down with ice cold water or for me I drink hot chocolate. (Yup) I preferred to enjoy the heat sensation from the stew by drinking something hot. It did it for me. Ok because I am not like that, I will share my sensation with you. Hehehe happy cooking.

Ok lets get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :
Long Tatashe ( caspeium )
Round Tatashe ( caspeium )
Habenero peppers
Onions
Onion granules
Knorr cube
Yam
Olive oil
Salt

UTENSILS :
Medium sized pan
Wooden spoon

Prep time : 5 minutes
Cooking time : 1 hour: 15 minutes
Total time : 1 hour : 20 minutes

Please note to achieve the above cooking time, please follow my simultaneous cooking method.

Method :
Blend the peppers and half of the onions until smooth.

20140517-173358.jpg

20140517-173411.jpg

Pour it into a pot and cook until the water dries up (20 minutes on medium heat. Stir occasionally to stop from sticking to the bottom of the pot or even burning.

After 20 minutes, take it off from the heat and set aside.
Next heat up the vegetable oil in the pan, let it get hot. Then add the sliced onions.

20140517-173808.jpg

Fry for about 3 minutes constantly stirring the onions.

20140517-173812.jpg


Duchess O Tip * do not fry the onions for too long because the flavour will over evaporate and burn*

Next add the pepper, stir and then reduce the heat. At this stage the pepper and oil ratio will be the same, but dont panic. It will separate as you cook along. Fry for 25 minutes uninterrupted.

  

(Go straight to the dundun prep)

After 25 minutes, check on the pepper. It should be semi frying nicely. Because I didn’t use alot of oil, the oil separation will be very little, but the taste will definitely be that of fried stew.

Next add the seasonings, stir well and then Continue to fry for another 20 minutes. By now the smell and taste will be different. That’s when you will know that it is done.
Remove from the heat and let it cool down for a few minutes before serving.


Dundun
Peel the yam and then cut into a log shape.

Rinse the yam thoroughly and soak in salt water for 15 minutes.

20140517-175050.jpg

After it’s been soaked for 15 minutes, add it to the pot, pour fresh water in and boil. Only add salt if necessary. Cook for 12 minutes

After 12 minutes, remove from the heat and drain the water.

20140517-175055.jpg

Heat up the olive oil, and then do a hot test (add a tiny slice of onions into the oil, it it fizzles very fast, then it is not enough.

20140517-175059.jpg

Next in add a few slice of onions, to give it a lovely flavour. Fry for 2 minutes. Then remove the onions. ( I didn’t remember to take pictures :()

In batches add the yam and fry on each side for 3 minutes. (Not more please)

20140517-175103.jpg

Once each side is done, flip it over and repeat the same process. Do this repeatedly until all the yam has been fried.

Drain on a kitchen towel to remove any extra oil.

It is ready to be served. Enjoy this lovely combo on a cold day or even a warm day and relax.

That’s it from me today. More post coming your way.

Love Duchess O

please dont forget to like our Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/duchessokitchen

Yum

20140517-180822.jpg

Yummy

20140517-180826.jpg

20140517-180834.jpg

Copyright Β© 2013
Β© Duchess O Kitchen and Duchess001.wordpress.com (2013). Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Duchess O Kitchen and Duchess001.wordpress.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.
P.S. State clearly the correct link to the blog. ALSO note that all contents, both Written and Video, Images and all other Materials is subject to Copyright Law

4 thoughts on “Obe ata din din ati Dundun

  1. Theres also a dish which I once had at a nigerian restaurant which was dun dun with dodo and guinea fowl it was so delicious and it was mixed with obe- Can you do a recipe for this please πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lovely…I’ve been looking for this recipe. everytime I attempted to fry yam it would often result in a bitter taste..maybe I didn’t soak in water long enough?? Will try this method next time….thanks duchessπŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Tinah. Thanks for stopping by, for me the soaking part is to stop it from getting brown and also help it soften a bit. I prefer to cook my Yam before frying mainly because I prefer a crispy skin, but soft interior. It makes so much difference to the taste. All the best Tinah

    Like

Leave a Reply

