Iwuk Edesi

Hello everyone, how has today been? I hope you are all doing great. I have been asked to prepare certain meals. I asked some of my followers that meal they would like to see on my blog and this is one of them.

First time I had palm oil rice (native Jollof rice) was years and years ago. It was at my childhood friends house. Their au pair cooked this delicious meal. I for one normally make sure that I eat dinner at home, but on that day I had to break the rule. The aroma that was wafting from the pot was mind blowing. I told her to give me some and by the time I finished the first plate, I asked for more. *covers face *

Aunty Eno sure did know how to cook! This is also called Iwuk Edesi I found out as the Efik name. Delicious I tell you

Ok, let me share this wonderful experience with you all πŸ˜‰

INGREDIENTS :

  • 2 cups of rice
  • Palm oil
  • Crushed chilli or ground chili
  • Stock fish
  • Smoked fish
  • Smoked Crayfish
  • Ground crayfish
  • Onions
  • Knorr cube
  • Half a cup of chopped Ugwu leaves

UTENSILS :
1 medium sized pot
Wooden spoon
1 bowl

Prep time : 10 minutes
Cooking time : 1 hour
Total time : 1 hour : 10 minutes

Method :
Wash the rice thoroughly to get rid of excess starch. Rub the rice against your palm as you wash.

Blend the peppers and onions.

IMG_0499.JPG

IMG_0500-0.JPG

Cook until the water dries up.

IMG_0501.JPG

In a medium sized pot, heat up the palm oil. Let it semi bleach. (Do not bleach it too much)

IMG_0502.JPG

Next add the onions, fry until transparent. (2 minutes)

IMG_0503.JPG

Next add the boiled pepper (just 1 soup spoonful) reduce the heat and fry on a low heat for 5 minutes .

IMG_0504.JPG

IMG_0506.JPG

Next add the crayfish, stock fish, smoked fish and smoked crayfish and knorr cubes. Fry on low heat for 15 minutes.

IMG_0508.JPG

Stirring continously. The reason for the low heat is to allow the fish and stew to cook until flavour is evident. See picture

IMG_0509.JPG

IMG_0510.JPG

Now add 1 1/2 cup of water.

IMG_0511.JPG

Next pour in the washed rice. Stir with the wooden spoon and then cover with foil paper.  This will allow the steam to be evenly distributed. Reduce the heat and then Cook for 25 minutes uninterrupted.

IMG_0512.JPG

Cover the pot with foil paper to retain the heat and steam. Makes your coking even better.

IMG_0515.JPG

After 25 minutes, remove the foil paper.

IMG_0513.JPG

Carefully use the wooden spoon to lift up a few spoonful.

IMG_0514.JPG

By now the rice will have absorbed the liquid . Add the last 1/2 a cup of water and stock cube as required.

IMG_0516.JPG

Cook for the final 20 minutes. The Aroma in your kitchen will make you want to dip your spoon in and start eating straight away, but be careful of burning your tongue :p

Then add the Ugwu leaves. Optional but it add a delicious crunch.

IMG_0518.JPG

IMG_0517.JPG

Turn of the heat and let it rest…lol. yes rest. Patience is needed here. Once the steam settles it makes it more easier to taste the ingredients in the food amd it also allows easy chewing and swallowing. (Lol. I dont want you to burn off your tongue)

Yayyyyyy.  We are done. Well done to you.

Plate up and enjoy πŸ˜‰

IMG_1077.JPG

IMG_1078.JPG

That’s it from me today

please dont forget to like our Facebook page Duchess O Kitchen

Follow me on Twitter
I’ll catch you all later in my next post.

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

