Ayamase (Obe iya Gbadun)

Hi guys. How are you all doing today? Its getting hotter where I am, so some certain recipes have not been updated. But I promise to keep you all informed via regular posts.

So today’s recipe has been ispired by my alma mata. Back in uni I always go to this lady in the outskirt of town to buy this food. But before I got hooked, I have to tell you what put me off at first and what finally sealed the deal.

Before I started eating Iya gbaduns food, I never knew something like that existed. The first day I saw it was when one of my flat mates Lara Alli showed it to me. It was my first year of Uni. It was the smell that drove me to her room. But when she mentioned that the stew was green. I was put offf. I was like ewww. As far as I know, stews are meant to be red. (Loool)

I kept on thinking all sorts that may have happened to the pepper . Maybe it was fermentated and she didn’t want ro throw it away. But No, that wasnt the case at all. Lara then proceeded to explain to me and my other room mates who had gathered by now (Bukky, Lamide  and Yinka)

So Lara told us about the making of the stew and why green pepper had been used. Its used to enhance the taste and also cut down on pepper heat.

We reluctantly agreed and then we proceeded to taste it…. and BOOM!  The taste was amazing. We all looked at each other and we were like this isnt real. The taste of the stew coupled with the rice that has been infused with banana leaves (she serves the rice in banana leaves) was oh so amazing. We had to respect our selves by not finishing Lara’s food. Lol

Although most people have sort of tried to recreate it, I think that’s where the Ayamase comes up. But its nothing compared to Iya Gbadun stew.

Anyway let me not keep you from enjoying this experience. Lets get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :
3 Large green peppers
6 green rodo
4 yellow rodo
Onions
Iru
Palmoil
Salt
Assorted meat
Rice
Banana leaves

UTENSILS :
3 medium sized pots
Blender
Wooden spoon

Prep time : 15 minutes
Cooking time : 2 hours
Total time : 2 hours : 15 minutes

(Guideline only. If your meats is already pre cooked it will save you time and make prep easier)

Method : STEW

Wash pepper and blend roughly.

IMG_4562.JPG

IMG_4573.JPG

See picture.

Pour the blended pepper into a pot, add the stock and cook for 25 minutes until the pepper is thick. (For me I dont like adding blended pepper straight to hot oil. It just messes up the process of frying.

IMG_4573-0.JPG

IMG_4586.JPG

Now for the palmoil..pour it into the pot (warning please do not use your best pot for this oh) add one whole onion (optional) bleach it for 17 minutes approximately. (Please you may need to deactivate your smoke alarm before you worry the neighbours πŸ˜‰

IMG_4585.JPG

After 17 minutes, remove Let it rest for 12 minutes.

IMG_4571.JPG

After all the smoke has cleared do a paper test (this is to ensure the palm oil has been bleached to the state that it changes to a vegetable oil look)

IMG_4581.JPG

Back to the oil now transfer it to another pot. Do a liAdd the iru and then watch what will happen……

The Iru will foam up seriously. Dont be alarmed its a cooking process. After you notice the foam, add the cooked pepper. And then let it fry for 15 minutes. (Took the picture after the bubble had gone down 😩. I was too fascinated)

IMG_4583-1.JPG

Whilst that is cooking, cut up the meat(s) into bitesize pieces. I remember back then that the meat were usually not that big. (I actually grilled mine first)

After 15 minutes add the pepper( this is optional) if you don’t like pepper that much, just use the yellow one πŸ™‚

IMG_4570.JPG

Next add the chopped assorted meats and then remember the peppers I told you to keep. Now add it. (The essence of this is to permeate the stew with an extra kick) when I first noticed it I was like thats raw pepper now. But when I tasted it, it was so soft and succulent. Yup. It has absorbed the taste of the stew and also had a little bit of oil. All round goodness :

IMG_4587.JPG

Cook for 35 minutes uninterrupted on a low heat. Reason for reducing the heat is to allow the meats absort the flavour of the stew and also allow the stew to soak the flavour of the meats. So its a win win situation. (Yes yes)

After 30 minutes, add the eggs. Let it soak up the stew. This will be amazing I tell you. Let it cook for the last 5 minutes.

IMG_4577.JPG

IMG_4578.JPG

After that remove the pot from the gas and let it settle. Yes settling is an integral part of this delicious stew. Settle for 5 minutes.

Once settled.

Serve.

Now how amazing was that. At this stage it was extremely difficult to plate and take a picture. I was ready to eat.

It just brought back memories 😍

RICE:

Next pour the rice into a pot and then add enough water to cook it and then cook for 15 minutes. ( If you notice I didnt say wash the rice. You will find out why soon πŸ™‚

Check on the rice. By now it would have produced alot of starch. Yup. Take it off the cooker, pour away the starchy water amd then rinse thoroughly until the water is clear.

IMG_4580.JPG

Reason for this is to reduce as much starch as possible in your food. (Think of it as a healthy tip)

Once the water is clear, then stop.

IMG_4572.JPG

now start by folding your banana leaves. Pour in the precooked rice, fold it and seal it. Do this repeatedly until all the rice is covered. Line the bottom of the pot with the remaning leaves and then add a little bit of water.

IMG_4582.JPG

Place the folded rice into the pot, cover it securely and cook for 35 minutes on low heat. (Oh just imagine the taste when cooked)

IMG_4574.JPG

(I got this idea from one distinctive flavour I have always had when I buy local rice and stew back when I was at uni. The hot rice was always served in the banana leaves and it definitely made the food taste different. However I decided to cook mine in it to make it more flavourful) no dulling πŸ˜‰

After 35 minutes By now the smell from the rice will be distinctly different because it has been cooked with banana leaves. I was excited at this stage. Remove from the heat and set aside.

Now it’s ready to be served. A round of applause. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

Lol. Ignore me πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‚

Here it is.

IMG_4530.JPG

IMG_4592.JPG

10 thoughts on “Ayamase (Obe iya Gbadun)

  1. I have been looking for this recipe for like God knows when! This gbadun stew was like one of the best things of school back then. Off to shop for the ingredients! Thanks!

    Like

  2. Wow… was just craving gbadun and decided to do a search…the ccoking of the stew seems quite long but I’ll definitely try the recipe of my fellow Babcock Alumni

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

