Otong soup

Hi guys. How are you all doing? I am really happy to bring you this recipe. I for one, really love anything made with Okro. The drawness that is derived from it gives me so much pleasure mot makes a meal memorable for me.

Otong is basically another form of ila alasepo. Which is mainly yoruba. However otong is the efik version but with the addition of uziza. Uziza leaves has this spicy/peppery taste to a meal. It makes the soup spicy but not too overpowering. It add the right balance. Uziza however much flavour it gives should be used moderately or else it will overpower everything else and may defeat the purpose of the meal.

I went round looking for Uziza leaves, but I couldn’t find any. But I was however able to find the ground one. which worked out quite well. I tell you when I made this soup I licked my plate. Yes. I licked it . loool. It was that good. I am grateful to God for providing us with various herbs and spices that helps us transform our meals. πŸ™‚

Let’s get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :
Okro
Assorted meat
Habenero peppers (yellow, orange)
Ugwu leaves (I used the dry one)
Dry catfish fish
Stock fish
Dry fish ( optional )
Crayfish
Dried shrimps (optional )
Salt
Uziza leaves( I used ground uziza instead)
Knorr cube

UTENSILS :
1 medium sized pot
Grater

Prep time : 15 minutes
Cooking time : 2 hours : 30 minutes
Total time : 2 hours : 45 minutes

Method :
Wash the meats properly. Season with knorr cubes and a bit of salt. Add blended onions and cook. (I prefer blended onions as it seeps into the meat and gives it more flavour.

IMG_4555.JPG

Once its almost cooked, (about 25 minutes before its done, add the dry fish ( es ). This will give an around flavour to the soup instead of intervals.

IMG_4556.JPG

Next blend the peppers and then add it to the stock. ( For me I used these peppers and cause of the less heat it produces and also because I didn’t want any unnecessary contrast between the uziza and the pepper) cook for 10 minutes. I wanted the uziza to be pronounced as it’s meant to be.

IMG_4548.JPG

Next add the crayfish. Let it dissolve into the stock for about 3 minutes. I also added half a teaspoon of dry pepper. Lol. Don’t mind me. You can skip this step if you wish πŸ™‚

IMG_4549.JPG

IMG_4550.JPG

Next add the palmoil. I used 1 soup spoon. I am not a fan of too much oil. Allow the palmoil to dissolve and cook in order to avoid the harsh curdling taste.

Next add the ugwu. Because I used the dried one, I decided to add it first so that it can devolve into the soup.

Next add the okro and uziza. I like crunchy okro, but however if you don’t, add it at the beginning, however I would say don’t. The greener it is, the more inviting

IMG_4552.JPG

IMG_4551.JPG

I used a wooden spoon here because I didn’t want a breakeage in the elasticity. Allow it to cook for 4 minute. Please do not cover the pot or else you risk the okro loosing its elasticity.

Thats it all done.

Set aside and allow it cool down a bit before serving.

I served mine with plantain fufu.

Enjoy.

IMG_4542.JPG

IMG_4541.JPG

IMG_4543.JPG
I will be making this again. This time I will look around widely for the uzia leaves. Watch out.

And so I made it again. And this time I used Uziza leaves 


I have another efik recipe coming up. Watch out.

please dont forget to like our Facebook page Duchess O Kitchen

Follow me on Twitter

I will see you all in my next post.

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

