Almond Egusi Soup

Hi guys. How are you all doing today? Todays recipe is another one of my healthy eating post. I try as much as possible to make sure all my meals are focused in less oil, good carbs and prepared the healthier way.

This post was inspired by an Amazing Lady Called Abiodun Leonard. We also call ger Oby. She is the powerful lady behind fitness redefined a health group on Facebook . She has done such as great work on everyone in the group by being such a positive impact and inspiration.

She made this soup and I tell you when I saw it I was like, that will be one sweet soup. She proceeded to explain that it didn’t and also has less oil, carbs and fat than Egusi. Which I had to agree. Although you can’t take away the taste of Egusi. Egusi is delicious. But I wanna try and accommodate some of my followers that want healthy options. My followers inspire me and I love them? So I said I will try it and share the outcome. πŸ˜‰

Ok lets get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :
100g of ground Almond
Assorted meats
Smoked turkey
1 large Tatashe
3 Habenero peppers
1 can of plum tomatoes ( 3 large tomatoes )
Iru ( Locust beans )
Dried shrimps
Dried catfish
Stock fish
Spinach

UTENSILS :
Blender
2 medium sized pots
Wooden spoon

Prep time : 15 minutes
Cooking time : 2 hours
Total time : 2 hours : 15 minutes

Method :

Wash the meats properly, add blended onions, salt and a little bit of knorr cube. Blended onions penetrate faster and makes the meat more juicier. Boil until almost tender.

Next add the smoked turkey and the other dried fishes. This will serve as a base for the stock. Once you get your stock right, you are in good position to wow your taste buds.

IMG_4631.JPG

Blend the peppers. Pour into a medium sized pot and cook until the water dries up.

IMG_4620.JPG

Next add the iru. I added quite a bit more to change up tge taste and I was pleasantly pleased with the result.

IMG_4618.JPG

Cook for 7 minutes.


IMG_4619.JPG

Next add the ground almond. Mix thoroughly and also to cook for 3 minutes.

IMG_4633.JPG

IMG_4621.JPG

Next add the beef stock. 2 cups of stock. Stir and allow to cook for 15 minutes uninterrupted.

Next add the meats and fish ( es ) stir and allow to be well incorporated into the stew. By this time your soup will not tatse like almonds, but sorta like egusi. Thats how amazing it is. πŸ™‚

IMG_4630.JPG

IMG_4632.JPG

Finally add the spinach. Ensure that the water has been drained properly or else the whole soup will water down.

IMG_4637.JPG

Cook for 5 minutes and it’s done.

Well done. I am proud of you

Serve with any solid of choice. I served mine with one scoop of eba. πŸ˜‰ Less is more.

IMG_4611.JPG

IMG_4610.JPG

IMG_4612.JPG

Check out the benefits if Almonds here
http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?tname=foodspice&dbid=20 (info source by whfoods)

please dont forget to like our Facebook page Duchess O Kitchen

Follow me on Twitter

That’s it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

