Ikokore!!

Hi everyone. How are you all doing. Christmas is almost here. so excited. I have some recipes for you to try over this period. So please be on the lookout for those.

This recipe has been a long time coming. But I have been putting it off because of the yam. Why? Because it itches your skin on contact. So you can imagine my fear. Lol. But however I was still craving it and said it has to be done, all thanks to my food processor. Problem solved.

Ikokore is an Ijebu dish. Usually eaten with cold Eba. I used to shy away from it when I was little because I felt they were trying to trick me into eating something that wasn’t cooked well. I mean I know Asaro, but which one is ikokore, lol. My grandmother always made it and the aroma then was so tempting. But I just didn’t understand it. Lol, Don’t blame me o. I like simple stuffs.

But as I grew older, I later understood what it was all About and I must confess that I have been missing a lot. It’s the texture, the taste and the aroma that gets you going. You have to try this to get what I mean. I have decided to cook this in my own way. I am sure there are variations of this out there

Ok let’s get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS:
1 medium sized Water yam
1 cup of Palm oil
Eja sawa
Assorted beef
3 cups of stock
1 cup of water
Salt
1 large pepper, 3habanero Peppers (tatatshe and habanero pepper (rodo)
2 medium sized tomatoes
1 medium sized Onions
Dry fish
1 teaspoon of Crayfish

UTENSILS;
Wooden spoon
Medium sized pot
Grater, blender or food processor

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: tbc

*make sure your meat is already pre cooked as it saves times*

Method:

Blend the peppers and onions. Cook until the water dries up.

IMG_1331.JPG

Next add the cup of palm oil to the cooked pepper,

IMG_1332.JPG

add the dry fishes and one teaspoon of cray fish. Stir well, reduce the heat to the lowest and cook for 15 minutes.

IMG_1333.JPG

IMG_1335.JPG

IMG_1334.JPG

Whilst that is cooking, peel the yam and cut it into small medium sizes.

IMG_1239.JPG

Next wash the yam pieces and then add it to the food processor.

IMG_1240.JPG

Pulse and let it grate (make sure you use the grater option for your food processor) see pictures

IMG_1241.JPG

IMG_1243.JPG

Once grated, set aside.

IMG_1244.JPG

By now the sauce should have been cooked. I didn’t heat up the oil first as the taste of Ikokore is in the palm oil.

Add the beef stock, 2 cups of water and boil. Boil for 10 minutes.

IMG_1336.JPG

Now add the 2 tablespoons of palm oil and crayfish. Allow both of it melt completely into the soup. Or else it will give you a curdling taste in your mouth. 3 minutes.

IMG_1337.JPG

Now finally add grated yam in small drops. See picture. Be careful not to be tempted to add it all at once. The thing with water yam is that it tends to cook in one spot. So if you add it just like that, you may find it difficult to spread it around.

IMG_1338.JPG

IMG_1339.JPG

Cover and reduce the heat.

IMG_1340.JPG

Cook for 15 minutes. Once cook stir lift gently with a wooden spoon.

Finally add the meats, turn it over slightly and allow it simmer again for 5 minutes.

IMG_1341.JPG

Remove it from the gas and let it settle for a while. See picture

IMG_1432.JPG

That’s it you are done. Very well done for following the instructions.

Now it’s time to serve and enjoy.

Enjoy

That’s it from me today

Love Duchess O

IMG_1362.JPG

IMG_1361.JPG

IMG_1363.JPG

Leave a Reply

