Ofe Owerri

Hi guys. How are you all doing? So today’s recipe has been one I didn’t really want to blog about. I will tell you why.

There has been a lot of misconceptions about it. 

When I asked a friend of mine Joyce to tell me about the recipe she mention using two types of leaves. I said ok.

I was about to go ahead when someone said no, you can’t use those combination of leaves. 

It’s Okazi ugu and uziza. I was like that’s not a problem I have both leaves at home.

But they still said no you can’t use that one. Then it’s not ofe oowerri if it doesn’t have uziza and Ugwu. 

Another person said it must be Okazi and Oziza (Uziza)

I had a headache at this point. So you see why I never really wanted to blog about it. I just went with two leaves that I had used before.
Uziza and Ugwu. 

Ok let’s get started shall we 

 INGREDIENTS 

  • Assorted meats 
  • Palm oil 
  • Ugwu 
  • Uziza 
  • Cocoyam 
  • Ogiri Okpei 
  • Cray fish 
  • Dry pepper 
  • Smoked crayfish 
  •  Dry fish
    Stock
  •  fish (optional) 

 UTENSILS 

  • Blender or food processor 
  •  Wooden spoon 
  • Medium sized pot 

 Method:

Wash the meats and season with salt and blended onions (this is a preference for me) please do not season with curry and thyme.

IMG_1148.JPG

Next boil the cocoyam.

IMG_1149.JPG

Once the beef is almost cooked, add the stock fish and dry fish (to allow it soften)

IMG_1150.JPG

Next add the smoked turkey

IMG_1151.JPG

Once the cocoyam is booked, allow it too cool down and peel of the skin. It should come off easily. Cut it into halves and place it in the food processor.

IMG_1174.JPG

Add hot water gradually whilst blending. Do not add it all at once.

IMG_1158.JPG

IMG_1165.JPG

Once blended set aside.

Next add the dry pepper to cooking meats. Allow it to dissolve. Cook for 2 minutes.

IMG_1152.JPG

Next add the ogiri. Some people add it later but I prefer to add this earlier. For those who do not know what it looks like, I have added pictures for better understanding 😉

IMG_1153.JPG

IMG_1154.JPG

IMG_1155.JPG

IMG_1156.JPG

Next add the palm oil. I used 11/2 soup spoon.
Allow it to cook well or else the palm oil will curdle at the back of your tongue if not cooked well. 5 minutes

IMG_1160.JPG

IMG_1161.JPG

Next add the smoked crayfish and blended crayfish

IMG_1164.JPG

IMG_1163.JPG

Next add the blended cocoyam paste. Add it with a teaspoon so that it can dissolve easily.

IMG_1166.JPG

Once dissolved and cooked it will look like this.

IMG_1169.JPG

IMG_1170.JPG

Finally it’s time to add the vegetables. Add the uziza first. I see a dry one. Which I had washed and also soaked with hot water to make it more pliable.

IMG_1168.JPG

IMG_1171.JPG

Cook for 3 minutes.

Finally add the Ugwu. Allow it to cook for 5 minutes and that’s it you are done.

IMG_1167.JPG

IMG_1172.JPG

IMG_1173.JPG

Well done to you. Now it’s time to enjoy your soup with any swallow of your choice.

IMG_1180.JPG

IMG_1178.JPG

IMG_1181.JPG

Leave a Reply

