Groundnut Soup (Omitsagwe)

Hi everyone. Back again with another traditional soup. Groundnut soup has always been a soup I wanted to cook. When I first heard it, I was like groundnut soup? In my mind I was imagining the groundnut that is eaten with garri or grilled plantain. Lol it just wasn’t adding up. But I was schooled that its not the dark roasted peanut that is used, but the fresh peanut that hasn’t been roasted at all.

So that got me interested. But then groundnut is sorta sweet, so wouldn’t that mean it may end up tasting sweet. Then I was advised to combat that with something bitter or savoury to balance the taste. (Spicy leaves came to mind) and I also decided to add another twist by adding ground Uziza seeds. It elevated it to another level. So with that sorted, I was ready to do justice to this soup.

Ok lets get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup of Freshly ground groundnut (you can use both the peeled and unpeeled)
  • Assorted meats
  • Dried fish
  • Dried catfish
  • 1 soup spoon of palmoil
  • 2 tablespoons of crayfish
  • 2 tablespoons of dried pepper (or use two fresh habenero pepper)
  • 1 tablespoon of dried cameroon pepper (optional)
  • A handful of dried uziza leaves
  • A handful of dried basil (efinrin, nchawu)
  • 1 tablespoon of ground Uziza seeds

UTENSILS
2 medium sized pot
Measuring spoons and cups

Prep time: 10 minutes
Cooking time: 45 minutes ( based on meats already pre cooked)
Total time: 55 minutes

Method:
Wash the beefs and beef parts. Add it to the pot. Season with salt and sliced onions. Don’t use knorr cubes. The more original the taste the better

Once the beef is almost cooked, add the rinsed dried fish(es) and allow to soften (10 minutes)

2015/01/img_1823.jpg

Once the fish has soften, add the palmoil and let it dissolve into the stock.

2015/01/img_1822.jpg

2015/01/img_1821.jpg

Allow it to cook with the stock for 8 minutes. This will help het rid of the curdling taste that is associated with uncooked palmoil.

2015/01/img_1855.jpg

Next add the dried pepper or freshly blended habenero pepper. The choice is yours πŸ™‚ allow it to cook for 5 minutes

2015/01/img_1856.jpg

Then add the Cameroon pepper. This pepper is hot, so just add half a tablespoon. I added it to the soup because i wanted to eliminate all forms of savoury, yet not overpowering the taste of the soup. Allow it to dissolve into the soup for 3 minutes.

2015/01/img_1857.jpg

Next add the ground groundnut. I didnt add it at once, as i dont want it to get clumped up on one side. I added it by spreading around whilst shaking the spoon.

2015/01/img_1859.jpg

Let it cook for 20 minutes on low heat. Keep checking on it as it tends to get thicker as it progresses in cooking.

After 20 minutes, check its consistency, if its thick, which it probably will, add half a cup of water. Don’t just add water anyhow or else it will be too watery. Allow it to simmer for 10 minutes still on low heat

2015/01/img_1860.jpg

Next add the crayfish. I added it at this stage so that I still have control of the taste. Cook for 2 minutes

2015/01/img_1861.jpg

Next add the uziza leaves. If you are using the dried leaves, ensure you soak it in hot water first. I only added about half a handful, because I didn’t want to overpower it.

2015/01/img_1862.jpg

2015/01/img_1864.jpg

Finally add the half a handful of dried basil and ground Uziza seeds. The aroma at this stage was amazing. I was really impressed.

2015/01/img_1863.jpg

Allow it to simmer for a couple of minutes. And that’s it. You are all done. That was easy right πŸ˜‰

Well done. I am proud of you.

Serve with any swallow of your choice.

Enjoy your groundnut soup:)

2015/01/img_1868.jpg

2015/01/img_1867-0.jpg

   
 I have another post coming up. The spices used for this soup is amazing. Watch out for that. You will love it

That’s it from me today, I will see you all in my next post.

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

