Tasty Fiesta (DuchessOKitchen’s Version)

Hello everyone. How are we you guys al doing today? It’s getting really cold where I am, so quick and filling meals are gonna be one of my new friends this season.

So tasty fiesta. I remember when i go out with my mum, one of the things I would ask her to bribe me with if she wanted me to go with her is to buy me tasty fiesta. Lol. I wanted to stay at home and play with the neighbours, so if she wanted to drag me away from that, we have to have a compromise. Hehehehe. My Mum is the best by the way. Ohhhhh The best. Not just because she buys me fiesta, she is one hardworking and selfless woman. I love her senseless!

Tasty fiesta is one of Mr Biggs favourite Menus on offer. Apart from their meat pie, which I have a recipe for on the blog. I love their recipe. So i have decided to recreate it with my own twist and tweaks. But still having that unique taste. We are set to go. So Lets get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS
6 large eggs
3 large potatoes
Smoked mackerel
1 medium sized tomato
Mixed peppers (optional)
White pepper
Black pepper
Shrimps(optional)
Small onions
Salt
Pinch of curry
Knorr cubes

UTENSILS
Mixing bowl
Whisk
Round or square baking tray

Prep Time: 15 minutes
Baking time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 40 minutes

Method:
Peel and rinse the potatoes.

Slice and chop into thin slices and boil for 10 minutes (first)

IMG_2289-0

IMG_2288-0

Flake the mackerel

IMG_2290-0

IMG_2291-0

IMG_2292

Break the first five eggs into a bowl. Add the seasonings

IMG_2293

The last egg, separate the egg whites and the yolk.

Add the yolk to the other eggs and whisk until combine.

Brush 1 teaspoon of oil on your baking tray

IMG_2294

Next add the chopped cooked potatoes to the tray.

IMG_2295

Followed by first layer of fish, Next the shrimps.

IMG_2296

Next the peppers

IMG_2297

Repeat all over, but make sure you end up with some potatoes at the top.

Now whisk the egg whites until soft peaks are formed (see pictures)

IMG_2298

IMG_2301

IMG_2300

IMG_2299

IMG_2302

IMG_2303

IMG_2304

Once done, fold the egg whites into the egg mixture and then pour straight away into the baking tray

IMG_2305

*the egg whites allows the fiesta to come out light and fluffy and crispy at the top.

IMG_2306

IMG_2307

Place it in the oven and bake for 25 minutes.

Once done, let it set before cutting into it

There you go! Tasty fiesta πŸ‘Œ

IMG_2310

IMG_2311

16 thoughts on “Tasty Fiesta (DuchessOKitchen’s Version)

  1. Hi Ijeoma. I decided not to use flour as my own preference and also this is my own tweaked version. You can add flour to yours if you want to πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜†

    Like

  2. So, I woke up yesterday and was craving Fiesta (talk about pregnancy cravings…). I googled and saw your post. Used your recipe and It turned out perfect! I baked longer though (40 Mins). Thank you so much for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is the best recipe for tasty fiesta I’ve read. I know this because I’ve tried to replicate tasty fiesta at home and always used mackerel/fish even though the recipes online didn’t mention it- I just knew that there was fish in it from the taste. I’ll try out this recipe as I never thought of whisking egg whites….. Ingenious!
    Bravo and thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

