Kelewele

Hi guys. How are you all doing? This has been on my to do list for a while now and I am finally glad I did it. Lol. Considering the fact that I always have plantain at home. Better late than never I guess. Hehehe

Kelewe is a Ghanian dish. First time I heard of it was from a friend of mine and I asked her what she meant. She explained that it was plantain seasoned with spices and then fried.

I am someone who loves plantain and I have always added onion granules to it to make it more tasty. So I was all up for this.

Ok let’s get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :
Plantain
Cayenne pepper
Onion powder (optional )
Ginger powder or fresh Ginger
Chilli powder (optional )

UTENSILS :
Frying pan

Prep time : 30 minutes – 1 hour (allowing the seasoning to penetrate)

Method :
Cut the plantain Into cubes or stripes

Season with the remaining ingredients
image

image

Rub it in together and allow it to penetrate for at least 30 minutes – 1 hour.

After 1 hour fry in hot oil. Don’t over power the plantation with oil. Less is more

IMG_2836

Fry until nicely browned or however dark you want it. Can you smell that Aroma! πŸ™‚

There you have it. I think Kelewele is gonna be the way forward for me. Absolutely love it 👏

IMG_2861

IMG_2860-0

IMG_2858-1

That’s it from me today, I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

6 thoughts on “Kelewele

Leave a Reply

