Chef Fregz garden egg and tomato sauce with meatballs

hi guys. Hope you are all doing good? I saw this post yesterday on INSTAGRAM by @chef_fregz and I was like, awesome. I am going to try it. If you don’t know who chef fregz is… ah Well. You are missing out. Please Google him.:)

I made his saucebwith a few twist of my own. His original recipe can be found on INSTAGRAM page (@chef_fregz)

I have made meatballs in the past and this wasnt hard for me to make at all. I loved the fact that he incorporated african and italian together. He is one of my favourite chefs by the way and I will be trying some of his dishes with my own twist. 

I have always been a fan of fusions. I believe african and international foods can be meshed together to create that wow factor for your taste buds. 

I have a recipe for meatballs on the blog here. Check it out if you are not familiar with making meatballs. 

Ok, lets get starter shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :
Meatballs
Pasata or blended tomatoes
1 tablespoon of Chilli flakes
8 Garden eggs
1 Green pepper
1 large Onions
4 cloves Garlic
3 Spring onions
1 tablespoon of Black pepper
1/2 a teaspoon of white pepper
Salt
Knorr cube
1 tablespoom of Olive oil

Prep time : 10 minutes
Cooking time : 25 minutes
Total time : 35 minutes

Method :
Prep the meatballs. Place on a baking tray and bake for 12 minutes. Do not be tempted to add oil. You will soon found out why.
image

Next roughly Slice the garden eggs, spring onions, green pepper, onions. Leave the garlic cloves whole. Just poke it a little for it to release it’s flavours.
image

Place the foil on a baking tray. Place the chopped vegetables on it and grill for 12 minutes. (I chose to grill mine in other to open up the flavours slowly. It will make a difference, trust me)
image

Whilst the vegetables are grilling, heat up 1 tablespoon, of Olive oil.

Add the Pasata or blended tomatoes. Stir and reduce the heat. Cook for 12 minutes.
image

image

After 12 minutes. (All baked and cooked items needs to be attended to)
image

Remove the grilled vegetables from the oven. Let it cool down for 1 minute.
image

Pour into a food processor or blender and roughly blend.
image

Add the mixed herbs, black pepper and white pepper.
image

Add the vegetables to the sauce. Stir and simmer for 3 minutes.
image

Next add the meatballs and knorr cube. Allow the sauce to coat the meatballs. Simmer for 10 minutes on very low heat
image

Remove from the heat and let it rest for a minute. This is to allow all the flavours to infuse.

Serve with Spaghetti and garnish with chopped parsley.

Thanks for the inspiration chef fregz. Dinner was amazing.

Enjoy!
image

I’ll see you all in my next post.

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

