Banga Rice

Hi guys. How are you all doing today? I am back with another traditional recipe as requested. Banga Rice and Soup, has been on my to do list. I have done the Igbo version which is called Ofe Akwu. (Soup) and I promised myself I will do the main Banga soup and rice. So for today we have the rice.

When I first heard about it, i was like wont this just be like palmoil rice, but I convinced thoroughly that the taste isnt the same. Mainly because of the Banga spices used and also the palm nut cream. The taste is different and oh yea do I agree. I enjoyed every minute of eating this.  The palmnut cream just makes it delicious and no it did not stick whilst cooking. Especially if you are very careful with the liquid added to it. 

P.s this recipe isnt fitfam certified, so only eat this on your cheat day if your nutritionist allows it πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Ok let’s get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS:

  • 400g of palmnut cream
  • Rice
  • 1 teaspoon of banga spice
  • 1 teaspoon of crayfish 
  • 2 cups of beef stock
  • Handful of dried catfish
  • 1 tablespoon of dried pepper
  • 1 medium sized onions ( I used red onions)
  • 2 knorr cubes

UTENSILS

1 medium size pot

Wooden spoon

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cooking time: 40 minutes 

Total time: 45 minutes

Method: 

Wash your rice thoroughly and set aside. This is one recipe that I wasnt allowed to perboil. I was adviced to boil it with the palmnut cream. So all I did was wash very well to get rid of all the starchy water. (See picture below) set aside. 

  

Next, add the palmnut cream to the pot. Add warm water to dissolve it. Please ensuretge water is enough to cook the rice and not more. The wayer kust beeds to be enough to cook it to perfection. 

Next add the 2 cups of stock. 

  

Next Add the chopped onions. 

Next add the banga spice, crayfish, smoked catfish, knorrcubes and pepper. I used dry red pepper. Allow it to boil until the oil starts to flow at the top  

Once you can see the oil patches, add thealready  washed rice. Cover it with foil paper and cook on medium heat. For 30 minutes.

Tip: using foil paper, helps retain the heat and also helps the even distrubution of heat. This ensures you dont add unecessary liquid to help it cook. I always use this method whenever I make rice dishes. 

  

 

After 30 Minutes, remove the foil and it should look like this

  

If you look closely, the rice is almost done. That’s what the foil does. It heps the rice cook to perfection. (Provided you didn’t use too much liquid) 

Fluff it a little bit with the wooden spoon

  

Cover it back with the foil and lower the heat. Finish cooking it for the next 12-15 minutes.

  

See how perfect the grains are and yes, no burnt pot. The grains are all apart πŸ‘

Remove from the heat and let it settle down. Then serve! 

Enjoy. I served mine with some grilled shrimps. Yum

   

     

Leave a Reply

