Fish Cakes

Hi guys. How are you all doing today? I have been a bit quiet. I apologise, been busy with quite a lot of things, but I promise you all I won’t be too busy to update recipes. My readers keeps me going. I appreciate you all πŸ™‚ 

 Todays recipe is inspired by a friend of Mine Adura. Ever since I met her we have been in talks about how to create a recipe that is focused in clean eating but at the same time not too boring.

I have always loved fish. Grilled, cooked or baked. So essy to cook and its delicious. Whatever you eat it with, fish makes it all better.  :p yes I said so. Hehe. 

 Why fisk cakes. Well I wanted to create something that sounded appealing regardless of your culture. I wanted it to be an accessible dish that can be prepared and not easily associated with a particular country.

Fish cakes is prepared in so many ways, you can either fry it or bake it. For me I decided to fry it, using less oil or else it will defeat the purpose of healthy eating.  However I will be making another version of it baked. As I want to be able to accomodate everyone on my blog.

I made this with a delicious dip. πŸ˜‰

Let’s begin shall we πŸ™‚ 

 INGREDIENTS : 

  • 1 cup of flaked Salmon 
  • 2 tins of Flaked tuna 
  • 1 medium sized white onion
  • 1 cup of Cold Water prawns 
  • 2 Eggs 
  • 1 tablespoon of low sodium Soy sauce 
  • 1 tablespoon of Sesame oil 
  • 1 teaspoon of Black pepper 
  • 1 teaspoon of White pepper
  • 1/8 cup of Flour (any flour is fine, its just for binding)
  • 3 tablespoons of oil for frying. You dont need a lot. Just enough to brown the fish cakes. 

 DIP INGREDIENTS : 

  • 3 tablespoons of sweet chilli 
  • 2 tablespoons of sauce
    Soy sauce 
  • 2 cloves of Garlic 
  • 1 tablespoon of Dried chillies
  • Squeeze of lemon juice (optional ) 

 UTENSILS : 

  • 1 large bowl 
  • Whisk or wooden spoon 
  • Scoop 
  • Frying pan 
  • Pastry brush 

Prep time : 10 minutes 

Cooking time : 30 minutes 

Total time : 40 minutes 

Method :  

Cut the salmon into small bite sizes. Then remove the tuna from the can and get rid of the brine. This recipe doesn’t need any more liquid or else it won’t bind. 

Next, Into a bowl, add all the ingredients and the flour and then whisk or mix. Until it’s all combined. 

 

    

  

   

Heat up the oil in the frying Pan, use the pastry brush to brush the oil around the pan. (So that the pan won’t burn)

Once it’s hot, scoop the cakes unto the pan. (See picture). 

 Edit 

    

  

Let it cook underneath properly before flipping. Or else it won’t flip and it will be messy.

Use the spatula to retain the shapes whilst frying (see picture) 

 Edit   

once done, flip it over and repeat the same process of shaping. 

  

Do this with all the other cakes until it’s all cooked. Put them unto a plate lined with paper towel.

  

DuchessOTip* the paper towel is to help absorb any oil

The  Dip:

Add 3 tablespoons of sweet chilli, one tablespoon of soy sauce, crushed chillis and half a grated garlic. Mix together until well combined. 

   

   

It’s ready to serve. 

Enjoy with the delicious dip. 

 

   

That’s it all done.

See you in next post were I will be showing you how to make marinades and dips that I have used in the past. I will be posting on homemade chilli sauce

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

