Ogbono Redefined 

Hi guys. Hope you are all doing good? It’s been a while since I posted on here. Been busy. But I didn’t forget you guys, so here I am. 🙂

This post is what I call a draw fest! Two major ingredients in this soup draws. So you can imagine the tango and salsa that will be going on in your hands, mouth and belly after a mouthful 😂😂😂. Get it? Hahaha.

But then I still wanted another edge to the stew, I wanted a bit of crunch! So I added a crunchy vegetable to seal the deal. I was ready to go all out with this one, so I decided not to hold back. I mean why should I, our Tummy deserves the best. So here we go. And guess what it is fit fam approved! 

Ok let’s get started shall we 🙂

INGREDIENTS: 

  • Ogbono
  • Okro
  • Ugwu
  • Assorted meats
  • Dry fish
  • Stock fish
  • Smoked prawns
  • 2 soup spoons of blended pepper
  • Half a spoon of palm oil 
  • Beef stock
  • Salt

UTENSILS: 

  • Food processor
  • 2 medium sized pots
  • Wooden spoon
  • Chopping board

Prep time: 15 minutes 

Cooking time: 1 hour (that is if your meat has already been cooked prior) 

Method: 

Boil your meat(s) please do not add curry or thyme to this. It will aler the taste of the stock and it won’t be pleasant. 

  

Blend the pepper and set aside

Once the meat has been cooked, sieve it to get rid of any film from cooking. Save about two soup spoons of stock and set aside 

Once that boiling, add the two spoons peppers and allow to boil for 20 minutes.

  

Next add the saved two spoons of stock to the Ogbono and mix until the Ogbono dissolves. 
Add it to the Stock, allow it to fully dissolves do then mix with a wooden spoon to allow it draw. 

  

Cook for 15 and please do not cover! Or else it  will loose it’s elasticity!

Next add the dried fishes to it and the half a spoon of palm oil. Cook for 6 minutes. Then

   

 

Add cooked meat(s). Allow to incorporate well for 10 minutes 

  

Then add the okro. I got my okro grated by using the food processor. 

Do not cover and do not over cook the okro. The crunchy the better, 

  

  

Now add the ugwu. I used the dried one here. And I tell you by the time I was done. The kitchen smelled amazing. I couldn’t wait to do in. Hehehe. Allow to cool for 3 minutes. Not more

  

That’s it. All done. Remove from the heat and serve

Just imagine eating this with plantain Fufu. Super healthy! 

Enjoy 

  

  
That’s it from me today. 

I will see you all in my next post with another fitfam soup. Get ready

Love Duchess O

2 thoughts on “Ogbono Redefined 

Leave a Reply

