CashewNut Chicken

The first time I saw this dish, was when a friend went to get some lunch. I walked into the room and I was like that smells nice. I asked her what it was and she said cashew nut chicken. So I could tell that was Chinese. 

I later had the chance to try it out when I got myself some. It was delicious. The cashew was crunch and so were the peppers! You could guarantee it was freshly made. 

As you know me, I research on the recipe until I found the one that matched the exact taste of the one that I had eaten. Well excited! I had most of the ingredients at home except the onions! That’s to show you I am a foodie. I always stock up on sauces and spices. πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

Ok enough talking, let’s get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS

  • Chicken breast or any boneless chicken part that you can get
  • 1 cup of cashewnut
  • 1 large onions
  • 2 tablespoons of chilli flakes
  • Red pepper
  • Green pepper
  • Spring onions
  • Garlic

Sauce 

  • 1 tablespoon of Dark soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons of Light soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup of Oyster sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil 

To serve 

  • Jasmine rice or plain rice

UTENSILS

  • Medium sized pot
  • Baking tray
  • Wooden spoon

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cooking time: 40 minutes 

Method:

The cashew in the original recipe was meant to be fried, but I didn’t want that so I placed in in a baking tray and allow it to get dry under the grill for 4-5 minutes or else it will burn! 
You only need it to be extra crunchy.  

Next Season the chicken with salt and white pepper. Yes that’s all you need as you don’t want too many seasonings interfering with the sauce. 

  
Place it in the oven and allow to grill or bake for 30 minutes. 

Whilst the chicken is baking, get all the other ingredients ready. Mix the sauces in preparation for the final stage of cooking. 

Slice the onions, chop the garlic and spring onions.

  
At the 25 minute mark, start making the sauce. 
First of all, add the sesame oil to the pan or pot whichever you use. 

  
Then add the chopped garlic. Allow to fry on low heat for 2 minutes. 

 
Next add the sliced onions. Fry for 4 minutes on low heat

   

Next add the chilli flakes. Allow it to mix for 2 minutes.

  
Followed by adding the cashew nuts

  
  
Remove the chicken from the oven, allow it to cool down a bit and then cut it with a knife until you get it in bite sizes.   

 
Add it to frying onions. 

 
Then finally add the sauce. 

  
Reduce it the heat and allow to simmer for 8 minutes. 

Then add the chopped peppers and spring onions. Allow to simmer for 2 minutes and then it’s done. 

   
 
I always prefer the veggies to be crunchy. They always make the sauce taste better and fresher! 

That’s it you are done. 

 
I served this with rice. It was absolutely amazing. My colleague at work who asked me to bring it in for her and she said loved it. 

I guess that’s A job well done! 😊

Enjoy the view. 

   
   

  

  

  
That’s it from me today.

I’ll see you all in my next post 

Love Duchess O

3 thoughts on “CashewNut Chicken

Leave a Reply

