Banga Soup

Banga soup has been on my mind for a long time. Been wanting to post it, but got so busy doing other things. 

Funny thing is I had the palmnut cream at home, but just couldn’t get round to making it. To be honest I feared making it as I know it will generate a lot of oil and I try not to eat a lot of oil. 

But I had to give an exception. This soup requires it and if I was going to make it, I might as well do it right :). Also the use of seafood is required, I didn’t want to use it however. But the standard Banga is made with Catfish or tilapia, fresh prawns and periwinkles. I will make it again using the above ingredients. 

Banga soup is originally from the southern part of Nigeria, although there is another version of this soup which can be eaten with rice. It is called Ofe Akwu. (Igbo version)  I have that version on my blog be sure to check it out. 

Ok let’s get started shall we

INGREDIENTS: 

  • Palmnut cream
  • Banga spice
  • Dry pepper or fresh pepper
  • Salt 
  • Assorted beef
  • Dried catfish
  • Dried hake (Panla)
  • Dried bitter leaf
  • 3 cups of water

UTESNSILS

  • 2 medium sized pots
  • Wooden spoon


Prep time: 5 minutes

Cooking time: varies


Method:

Boil your meats. Once almost cooked, add the dried fish(es)

Next add the palmnut cream to the pot and add water to loosen it up. Ensure its not too watery or else it won’t thicken up.

   

   
Allow to boil. Until you see the oil float up. On that happens, add the dried fish from the pot. Cook for 8 minutes on reduced heat.

  

  

After 8 minutes, add the Banga spice (start up with 1 tablespoon at first, and then gradually increase by half a spoon until you are happy with the taste)  

If you notice the soup will become a bit dark, that’s the effect from the spices.   
Now add the meats

   
 

Once the meat has been well incorporated in the stew, add the bitter leaves. 

   
I used dried bitterleaves, it took the taste to another level. I allowed it to cook until patches of oil can be seen. 

 
That’s it you are done! It’s time to plate up

Enjoy with any swallow of your choice, but ideally this is eaten with starch.    

    
 
That’s it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

2 thoughts on “Banga Soup

Leave a Reply

