Igbagba Ofofo

Hello everyone, how are you all doing great. So today I will be blogging about an Ishekiri soup. I haven’t blogged about any Itshekiri meal before, but from now one I will definitely be broadening my skills for all your reading pleasure. 

The last blog update was an Igbo dish which used some of the spices I will be using today and I thought why not try it out. I have seen various posts on this and so I thought I’d give it a trial. 

I love anything Okro, so it was a pleasure making this soup. Some of the ingredients can be substituted like I did, as the main spices are not all available so I used the next best thing. So here we go

INGREDIENTS

  • Okro
  • Assorted meats 
  • Smoked fish
  • Dried catfish
  • Smoked crayfish 
  • Crayfish
  • Peppersoup spice
  • Dry red pepper or chopped ata rodo
  • Dried ugu (optional)

UTENSILS

  • 1 medium sized pot
  • Food processor 
  • Mortar or spice blender 

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: tbc

Method: 

Wash the okro, remove the head and bottom. Cut into halves and place it in the food processor. 

  
Roughly chop(using the pulse button) it in the food processor and set aside.

  
Next clean your meats. Then boil with sliced onions and salt. Nothing else please. We need this soup to be naturally delicious not over enhanced. 

   

Once the meat has cooked for 15 minutes,  add the dry red pepper, peppersoup spice and ground crayfish.  Allow it to cook for till the meat is almost tender. 

   
    
 

Once the meat is almost tender add the dry fishes and cook for 10 minutes.

  

After 10 minutes add the chopped okro and smoked crayfish Allow it to slow cook for 5 minutes. Not more as it’s always better to have a crunchy okro. 

   
    
 
That’s it you are done. 

I really loved the taste of this soup.i hope you would too. Try it out and let me know your thoughts. 

Enjoy!

   
 
That’s it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

