Edesi Isip

Hello everyone. How are you all doing? This recipe is for my Efik people. Woohoo! This is my fourth efik recipe. Efik recipes is beginning to grow on me. I love it. Lol, don’t worry I will still post other tribes recipes, I just want to make sure that every areas is duly covered.

I was wondering what to make for dinner, I wanted rice, but I didn’t want something I had prepared before. I recently saw a post on this Efik coconut rice, I googled it and saw various ways on how to cook it. 

Because I hadn’t prepared it before I knew I had to make it the only way I would do when I gets new recipe without compromising on the ingredients. So here is my take on how to prepare Edesi Isip. 

Let’s get started shall we

INGREDIENTS

  • Rice
  • Coconut milk
  • Crayfish
  • Smoked crayfish
  • Dry smoked fish
  • Dry catfish
  • Dry pepper (optional)
  • Goat meat (optional)

UTENSILS

  • 2 medium sized pots

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 1 hour : 45 minutes 

Method: 

Next ,Wash the rice and get rid of any starch. Rinse until the water is clear. 
Next pour the coconut milk into the pot, boil for 5 minutes to release the flavour.

  
Next add the dry pepper,crayfish, smoked crayfish and all the dry fish(Es) cook until the aroma is released. 

   
   
Next add the stock and rice. Reduce the heat, cover with foil paper and allow to steam cook for 20 minutes. 

  
  
After 20 minutes check on the rice. The aroma will be different, due to the rice being added.

 
Next Add the final stock, cover and continue to steam cook for another 20 minutes.  It should look like this after the second 20 minutes
 
Now check on the rice, it should be nice fluffy and grainy! 

    
That’s it you are done! Enjoy the Aroma. It’s that easy.
Enjoy! Here you go

   
    
   
That’s it from me today, I will see you all in my next post. 
Love duchess O

Leave a Reply

