Iwuk Abia

Hi guys, hope you are all doing good? I am back with another Efik recipe. I am really loving the fact that my palette is expanding. These Efik recipes are really getting me excited! 

So whilst I was compiling recipes for the Efik category, I stumbled upon this recipe. I almost missed it because I was looking for something else. It was part of a write up and I wondered what it was. After much research I discovered that it was yam pottage made the Efik way. 

I love yam pottage, so when I discovered that it was made in another way, I was happy to include it in my blog line up. I planned on making it a few days later, but then I discovered someone blogged about it the next day. I was gutted. Because it may look like a copy cat. 

However the one I saw, I had already expanded on it, I decided to make it anyway. I have learnt that there will be recipes, but what makes it unique is what the blogger does with it. 

So let’s get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 medium sized tuber of yam
  • 1 large tatashe 
  • 3 habanero pepper
  • Crayfish 
  • Smoked crayfish
  • Dry catfish fish
  • Dried hake (panla) optional 
  • Dry or fresh basil 
  • Palm oil 

UTENSIL

  • 2 medium sized pots

Prep time: 

Cooking time

Total time

Method 

Peel and cut the yam into small chopped pieces: wash and soak in water until you are ready to use it 

  

Next blend the peppers and Boil for 12 minutes  to help get rid of the water 

  

Next add the dry fish(Es) crayfish and smoked crayfish. Cook for 10 minutes 

   

   

Whilst that is cooking, boil the Yam at the same time for 8 minutes. 

  
After 8 minutes drain some of the water to get rid of any foam

   
After draining 

 

Next add the palm oil to the pepper and cook for 12 minutes

After 12 minutes, Check on the sauce, it should look like the picture below

  
Now add it to the yam 

   
Mix together 

 
Allow to cook for 10 minutes. After that mash some of the yam to create a paste

  
Then add the dried basil. 

 
Allow to simmer on low head for 5 minutes. Then it’s done. It’s ready to serve. 

I especially loved the aroma that was enveloping the room. You will too when you try this awesome dish

Enjoy!

      
 

Leave a Reply

