Swedish Meatballs

Hi everyone, how are you all doing today? So this recipe has been on my mind for a while now. I remember my first experience with this amazing dish. 

It was my Uncle and his wife that introduced me to it. I went over to theirs for a short vacation and they were like, oh there is this place you need to visit. (IKEA) I was like oh I have been there before, but they then elaborated further that have I been to the restaurant side of the store. I was like oh I didn’t know they had one. So curious I decided go along. 

Got there, ordered it and I must confirms it was love at first bite. The meatballs practically melts in your mouth and the sauce was oh so amazing. I told them I see what they meant by I will be amazed. I never forgot about it, I fact whenever I go there, I always drop subtle hints about going back there.

Recently I was about to prepare a meal when I remembered the meatballs again. I was very curious about it I decide to search for a recipe. Mind you I saw loads of variations. But after reading loads and loads of recipes, I was able to take key elements from each one to finally make the meatballs. 

So here it is today. Although it’s the next best thing, as the original is still being kept a secret. I don’t blame them though, some recipes are best kept close to the heart πŸ™‚ so here we go. My almost Swedish meatballs

So excited, I got all the ingredients ready! I am about to show you all what an amazing experience this will be
Ok let’s get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS: Meatballs

  • Minced meat 
  • Onions 
  • White pepper
  • Black pepper
  • a pinch of Nutmeg
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of Cloves
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of Cinnamon 
  • Bread crumbs 
  • Egg

Sauce

  • Butter
  • Flour 
  • Double cream or substitute with whole milk 
  • Light soy sauce (less sodium is better)
  • 1/2 a cup of Beef stock
  • Parsley for garnishing (optional)

UTENSILS

  • Baking tray
  • Frying pan
  • Whisk 

Prep time: 25 minutes 

Cooking time: 40 minutes 

Total time: 65 minutes 

Method: 

You can either buy pre prepared meatballs or simply just make yours from scratch. I prefer making mine from scratch. It’s a lot tastier. 

Here is how I make mine. Combine all the above Ingredients for meatballs and use my guide on How to make meatballs to help you get started. 

Once you have made the meatballs, place them on a baking tray and bake in the oven for 30 minutes. Once done set it aside 

SAUCE:

Heat up the frying pan or sauce pan. 

Next, add the butter, allow it to melt. 

Next add Thinly slice the onions. Fry for 2 minutes. 

  
Next add the flour. 

  
Mix thoroughly well together 

  
Now add the beef stock, mix well with a whisk o order to avoid clumps. Add the beef stock gradually. Allow to heat up for a minute whilst stirring

  
Now add the cream or milk 

  
Mix well. And reduce the heat. Allow to cook for 3 minutes stirring all the time. 

Now add the soy sauce 

  
And finally the meatballs. 

   
Stir and allow the sauce to coat the meatballs. (Use a wooden spoon)

Allow to simmer on very low heat for 8 minutes, if it’s getting thick, add 1/4 of water or stock. 

That’s it all done. lol. IKEA will have to make do with the fact that I will be making these at home now. Yummy! 

Enjoy 

      

That’s it from me today. 

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

 

Leave a Reply

