Liberian Jollof Rice

Hi everyone, hope you are all doing good? I am really excited to blog about this recipe. Anything Jollof rice gets me excited. I mean it’s Jollof rice! What more can you ask for. Hehehe. 

I will be taking you all today to Liberia. It is located in the continent of Adrica, west African coast to be precise. 

I was looking to expand more on the blog, give it a variety and still make sure I stay true to my roots. I found this dish on IG. no recipe though, just a repost by one of the food pages. I was like what makes it so different. There was no recipe, so I had to go by sight. I researched on the recipe and found loads and loads of variations. 

I was like oh dear, now which is which. After reading through all of it, I picked out all the ones that appeared lots of times and then expanded on it. Although I omitted one particular ingredient out, but I am sure it won’t hinder the taste at all. 

I am really excited to get started, ok let’s begin shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS 

  •  4 cups of rice
  • 1 cup of shrimps 
  • 1 cup of diced cooked chicken breast
  • 1 cup of diced cooked beef 
  • Mixed veggies 
  • Curry
  • Thyme
  • White pepper
  • Black pepper 
  • Bay leaf 
  • 2 large tatashe 
  • 3 medium sized tomatoes 
  • 4 habenero pepper (reduce to two of you don’t like it too spicy)
  • 2 cups of beef stock
  • Knorr cubes
  • 1 cup of Vegetable oil 
  • Onions

UTENSILS:

  • Blender
  • Chopping board 
  • Frying pan
  • Medium sized pot 
  • Wooden spoon 

Prep time: 15 minutes 

Cooking time: 1 hour: 15 minutes

Total time: 1 hour: 30 minutes 

Method: 

Roast the peppers 

Blend the roasted peppers and tomatoes. (This method really saves time)

Next Wash the rice thoroughly to get rid of the first batch of starch.
Next per boil the rice for 10 minutes to remove more starch and to also set the prep in motion

  
Whilst the rice is boiling, heat up half of the vegetable oil. 

The next step is for frying which will be for a total of 12 minutes

Next add the beef and fry for 4 minutes

  
Next add the chicken. Fry whilst turning regularly for 4 minutes. 

  
Now add the shrimps. Fry for 4 minutes. 

   
 Once done remove from the pan. 

Check on the rice. The starchy water should have been extracted well. Drain and rinse until the water is clear. (See pictures below)

  

In a clean pot,add  the remaining cup of oil. 

Next add the onions

  

Next add the mixed veggies

  
Add the pre cooked blended peppers and tomatoes. Stir well and cook for 3 minutes

   
  Next add the beef fry up

 Mix well until well incorporated  
 
Back yo the rice, place it back on the gas

  
Now add the sauce 

  
Next mix well to incorporate the sauce and rice well

  
Add the seasoning and bay leaves (remember I said this is optional, it a preference for me, henceforth I used it 

  
Mix well and then add 1 cup of stock.
Cover with foil paper, reduce the heat to medium and then cook for 20 minutes. Remember the rice has already been per boiled, so don’t over cook it.

After 20 minutes, check on the rice. It should be almost soft. Add the remaining cup of stock and cook on low heat for 15 minutes. 

After the 15 minutes is up, it is ready to eat. Allow it to cool down  a bit before  serving. 

Here it is. Enjoy!

   
    
    
   

2 thoughts on “Liberian Jollof Rice

Leave a Reply

