Ata Din Din (Sauce)

Hi everyone, I hope you are all doing good?

Today’s recipe is not a new one, just updated and also decided to give a proper step by step guide. It has been remixed various ways. I have had this before as spicy beef stew, but I wanted something a little bit different.
Obe ata din din as I remember it has always been spicy. I remember when I used to buy dun dun (Fried yams) they always had this sauce to go with it. As in the fried yam was not complete without it.
Ah those days, will then wash it down with ice cold water or for me I drink hot chocolate. (Yup) I preferred to enjoy the heat sensation from the stew by drinking something hot. It did it for me. 

Ok because I am not like that, I will share my sensation with you. Hehehe happy cooking.
Ok lets get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS :

  • Long Tatashe ( caspeium )
  • Round Tatashe ( caspeium )
  • Habanero peppers
  • Onions
  • Onion granules
  • Knorr cube
  • Olive oil
  • Salt

UTENSILS :

  • Medium sized pan
  • Wooden spoon

Method

Blend the peppers and one of the onions 

  
Pour it into a pot and cook until the water dries up (20 minutes on medium heat. Stir occasionally to stop from sticking to the bottom of the pot or even burning.

  
After 20 minutes, take it off from the heat and set aside.

Next heat up the vegetable oil in the pan, let it get hot. Then add the sliced onions.
Duchess O Tip 

* do not fry the onions for too long because the flavour will over evaporate and burn*



Next add the pepper, stir and then reduce the heat. At this stage the pepper and oil ratio will be the same, but dont panic. It will separate as you cook along. Fry for 25 minutes uninterrupted.

  

After 25 minutes, check on the pepper. It should be semi frying nicely. Because I didn’t use alot of oil, the oil separation will be very little, but the taste will definitely be that of fried stew. So be patient please πŸ™‚

Next add the seasonings

stir well and then Continue to fry for another 20 minutes.
After 20 minutes this is what you will get. It’s not yet done, so you will need to continue frying on very low heat for another 30 minutes (10 minutes intervals) 

First 10 minutes 

 

Check on the stew it should look like this 

 
Continue frying for the Second 10 minutes 

It will then look like this   
Now increase the heat to medium to fry for the final 10 minutes. Which will then look like the picture below. 

  
By now the smell and taste will be different. That’s when you will know that it is done.
Remove from the heat and let it cool down for a few minutes before serving.
All done. Time to enjoy! 

   
   
 
That’s it from me today 

I’ll see you all in my next post 

Love Duchess O

   

Leave a Reply

