Puff Puff

Hi guys. Hope you all had a lovely weekend? I sure did. This post is special. Why? Because it took me a while to gather up all my strength and conviction to make this post. 

Puff puff I love, but I have always wondered if I would ever be able to get it right. And for some reason I always thought that it was a whole days job. Yup. I thought the mixing and then proofing took agas, but alas! It doesn’t 

Every since I found out that it’s just a matter of 45 minutes to and 1 hour to proof, I was a happy bunny. But then came the issue of getting the perfect round balls. Yes, I was that concerned. The last thing you want is to have a lopsided puff puff or better yet, a flat looking puff puff, it can be fisher arming I tell you. 

My first attempt, I followed a recipe to the T, but when I fried it, it came off flat. Although I used less oil, but in won’t lie to you, it was painful. Lol, especially as I was having high expectations. 

But that is now a thing of the past, the recipe I followed, it was one of the few I found that had a good balance. A fellow blogger Akoje had this on her blog, although it gave the perfect puff puff I must confess, I had to convert the grams properly to cups and also added a few tweaks to the amount given. Hence I had the perfect recipe for puff puff. I will be trying the same recipe but this time adding another ingredient and then see the outcome of that. 

Ok let’s get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons of flour
  • 2 cups of lukewarm water 
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of salt
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1 tsp of Cinnamon
  • A drop of vanilla extract 
  • 2 1/2 teaspoon of Dried active yeast 
  • Vegetable oil

UTENSILS

  • Mixing bowl
  • Wooden spoon 
  • Cling film
  • Small bowl

Prep time: 5 minutes 

Proofing time: 45 mins – 1 Hour

Method: 

Soft the flour into a bowl

Next add the yeast, cinnamon, cloves, salt, and sugar. Mix together 

   

 

Next add the lukewarm water to the flour mix. 

  
Mix gently until the water and flour mix is complete without any lumps

  
Cover the mix with ding film and leave in a warm place for 45 minutes to 1 hour

AFTER PROOFING

   
Remove the cling film 

 

Heat up the oil, ensure its hot

  
To check its hotness, do a sizzle test

  
Once it sizzles, then it’s hot enough
STEP ONE 

Get water in a bowl, (this is to help with the scooping. If your hands are wet, the probability of dropping the dough into the hot oil in one fluid movement is very high) 

  
Once your hand is very wet, 

STEP TWO

scoop the dough batter into the palm of your hand, 

STEP THREE

close your fingers over it 

STEP FOUR

squeeze out the dough from the bottom of your hands. 

The picture here is what you will get when you drop a squeeze each into the hot oil. (Still yet to perfect the roundness)  

Fry until golden brown. 

  

  

  
Follow the steps repeatedly until all the dough has been used up.

Now that was an amazing experience wasn’t it πŸ™‚

Here you go! Hot puffies!

   

 
   

   
   

 
  

Thats it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post 

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

