Ginger Beef Stew (Aunty Celine’s Stew)

Hi guys, hope you are all doing good. This recipe is inspired by one of my Aunts. I remember when ever I go to Aunty Celine’s house, there is this aroma that always wafts in the air. It always leads me to her Kitchen. Lol. I tried one off her many stews and I must say it was off the hook. I absolutely loved it. 

The smell and taste that somewhat hit me first was the ginger. It added an amazing flavour to the stew. It was really delicious. I can’t remember if I asked her for the recipe, but all o know is everything I am at her place, I always hope she has the stew. 

So whilst I was compiling recipes for the blog, I rembered this stew and it brought back memories. I said to myself I must make that stew! My mouth was already salivating at the prospect of eating it after it’s been cooked. Lol, trust me you all would love it. 

Enough talking for now, let’s get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS 

  • 2 long tatashe 
  • 2 medium sized tatashe 
  • 3 Habenero pepper
  • Onions
  • Garlic 
  • Ginger
  • Assorted meats (pre cooked with sliced onions and knorr cube)
  • Thyme or Rosemary
  • Mixed herbs 
  • Vegetable oil 
  • Salt 

UTENSILS

  • 2 medium sized pots
  • Blender
  • Baking tray

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: tbc

Method: 

Gril the Boiled meats for 25 minutes.

 

Once grilled, set aside.  

 Next, Rinse the peppers and slice into halves 

Peel the onions and slice into halves 

Place it on a baking tray and roast for 20 minutes.

   
  
After 20 minutes, remove form the oven and blend with a 1 1/2 cup of beef stock

  

Next heat up the oil and fry the sliced onion on low heat for 5 minutesThis is how it looks after 5 minutes 

  
     

Now add the grated garlic and ginger. Do not fry for more than 30 seconds or else it will burn. 

  
Next, add the blender pepper and fry for 20 minutes in low heat. 

   
After 20 minutes, add the herb and let it fry for 5 minutes

  Now add the grilled meats. Reduce the heat to the lowest and allow it to fry for 20 minutes. (Make sure you keep an eye on it)

With each 5 minutes, you will see changes.

   

10 minutes after

  15 minutes after   
20 minutes after

Once it’s 20 minutes, remove from the heat and allow it rest, in other to let it all run clear. 

There you have it. Trust me, when you eat this white rice, your mouth will jump for joy. (Literally… πŸ™‚

I enjoyed making this stew, whynot give it a go and let me know how it goes. 

Enjoy! 

   

  

  

 

   

  

  

 That’s it from me today.

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O   

Leave a Reply

