Surf and Turf Coconut Curry

Hi everyone. I hope you all enjoyed the festive season? I know I did. Lots to cook, eat, places and people to see and lots to be grateful for

I have been waiting to eat basmati rice, but I didn’t want to eat with stew. I wanted a curry to go with it. I remember my goat curry recipe and I was like, hmmm,I need to marinade it for a long time. And besides time was a major factor here.

Then I remembered I had this curry dish all planed out, so I decided to make this instead. Omg, the Taste is out of this world! And just to think that the Ingredients are not all that hard to get. Sometimes the best dishes just needs the simplest of ingredients to bring out a wow factor.

I decided to use the Greek yoghurt for this amazing curry because I wanted to cut down on the fat from the coconut milk and it also works as a natural thickener. 

I am sure by now you all know I love food! Lol, now who doesn’t? Hehehe

Ok let’s get started on this amazing curry.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 can of Coconut milk (low fat)
  • 3 tablespoons of Greek yoghurt (low fat)
  • 1 pack of cut Beef (300g)
  • 1 pack of Shrimps (170g)
  • 1 pack of Salmon or any fillet fish of choice
  • 1 teaspoon of Turmeric
  • 1 cup of Mixed peppers
  • 1/2 an Onion
  • 2 cloves of Garlic
  • Thumb sized Ginger
  • 1 teaspoon of Chilli
  • 1 tablespoon of Olive Oil
  • 1 cup of Beef stock or vegetable stock 
  • 1 knorr cube (use cautiously since you will be using beef stock)

UTENSILS

  • 1 medium sized pot
  • 1 frying pan
  • Wooden spoon

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 35 minutes

Total Time: 50 minutes

Method:

Season the beef with salt and set aside

Slice the onions and grate both the garlic and ginger.

    
Next heat up the frying pan or medium sized pot.

Add the oil and let it get hot.

  
Add the onions and beef. fry until the beef is well browned and the onions translucent (5 minutes)

  
(In the meantime boil your rice)

Next add the beef and fry for 5 minutes. The beef will gradually change colour with each minute so be observant

  
 After 1 minute

After 2 minutes 

    
5 minutes

 The beef may produce some stock, if that happens, just drain the stock.

Next add the ginger and garlic. Let it fry for about 45 seconds to 1 minute. (Or else the garlic and ginger will burn and it will taste horrible) 

 
After 1 minute add the chilli flakes. This will give it just the right amount of spicyness 
   
 Now add the coconut milk

   

  
 Followed by the Greek yoghurt.

  

 You may notice it will become a bit thick, that’s fine. It’s meant to be like that. 

 

Add the beef stock and cook on low heat for 15 minutes.

 
Check on it after 15 minutes, give a stir and then Continue to cook for a further  10 minutes.
Next add the shrimps and salmon. Cook still on low heat for 7 minutes.

  

Now finally add the mixed peppers and tumeric. Allow to simmer for 3 minutes. 

  
 That’s it, it’s all done. 

   
 Take it off the heat and let it rest. The residual heat will finish off the cooking 
Now it’s time to serve. Wasn’t that easy?

Enjoy! 

   
    
    
 That’s it from me today, I will see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

