Sausage Roll

Hi everyone, I hope you are all good? I remember for a long while I had always liked eating GALA. I always had to eat it one way or the other. When traveling  back for school or just long outings, I always had to have gala. But after a while, it got really old. I just thought this has got to stop. 

Lol, anyways. I decided to shift my focus somewhere else. So whilst compiling posts for the blog, I remembered I didn’t have any post for sausage roll. For someone like me who loves to bake, I was surprised that I didn’t have it on my blog. I went straight into work mode and made some. I love it. The crust was soft, but with just the right amount of firmness. 

One thing I always tell people is that when making pasty, the ratio of the flour and butter must accurate or else, you will end up with crunchy and crumbly pastry. 

Here are a few tips to help for future pastries

  1. Always sift the flour 
  2. Always use GOOD quality butter
  3. Always refrigerate after making the dough

Now that we have some of the basics sorted,let’s get started shall we 
INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups of Flour
  • 225g of Butter
  • 1 Knorr cube
  • A pinch of Curry
  • A pinch of Garlic powder
  • A pinch Thyme
  • 300g of uncooked sausage (Satis in Nigeria). (I used Cumberland sausages, they are very tasty
  • 1 egg

UTENSILS

  • Chopping boards 
  • Rolling pin
  • Knife
  • Pastry brush 

Prep time: 10 minutes

Non bake time: 30 minutes 

Baking time: 25 minutes 

Method: 

Dough prep see my full proof ones Dough and Dough and follow the guidelines 

Once the dough has been refrigerated start preparing the filling

      

  
Next remove the dough from the fridge. 

Roll out the dough into a square and then cut a neat square with a knife

  
Next add the sausage filling to the edge of the dough (this is because you will need to roll it over)

  
Next lift the edges and roll it over 

  
Brush the rolled over part with egg to help seal the dough 

   
 Then roll over again and the brush the egg with it to close it

  
Next dust the knife with flour (this will help the cutting process to be neat and less sticky

   
 

Repeat the process until all the dough has been used up. 

Brush the baking paper with butter or oil(this will prevent the dough sticking to the pan

   

Place the rolls on the Baking paper, poke it with a fork and brush it with the egg (this will give a shiny and soft finish)

Bake for 25 minutes

 

After 25 minutes, remove from the oven and let it cool for a few minutes. 

Then it’s ready to be served! 

Wasn’t that easy? πŸ™‚ 
    

There you go! 

Enjoy

  
  

  

  
That’s it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O 

2 thoughts on “Sausage Roll

Leave a Reply

