Smoked flavoured Okra Soup with Utazi

Hi everyone, how are you all doing? I love Okro or Okra as known and called my different people from different parts of the world. 

You see okra has this way of making you feel good after eating a plate. It’s not just the draw fest, it’s the crunch, texture and taste. The great thing about okro is that you can add it to lots of soups. You can mix it with vegetables, stews and even other dry ingredients. I will be sharing that on the blog, so please WatchOut for that. 

I remember a friend of mine made peppersoup for me, it was cooked with Utazi instead of the normal dried basil (Efirin) and I must say I did enjoy it and almost preferred it. The taste and the aroma is amazing. 

Hopefully once I get the recipe I can tweak and share it wilt you all. Anyways, ever since then my love for Utazi has changed and I almost want to use it with all my soups. Lol. 

When j was writing out this recipe, it came to mind and I decided to add it. The taste was amazing. Finger licking good! 

Lol, anyways lets get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS

  • Okro
  • Assorted meats 
  • Smoked fish
  • Smoked turkey or chicken
  • Smoked catfish 
  • Smoked hake (Panla)
  • Smoked prawns 
  • Crayfish
  • 3 yellow habenero pepper 
  • Salt 
  • 1 tablespoon of locust beans (Iru)
  • 1/2 a cup of dried or fresh Utazi (If using dried ones, wash, and the soak in warm water before use)

UTENSILS

  • Medium sized pot
  • Food processor 
  • Wooden spoon

Prep time: 

Cooking time:

Total time: 

Method:

Clean the meats 

Next season with salt and add sliced onions. Cook until soft

Once the meat is almost soft, but not fully cooked, add the smoked turkey or chicken. Cook for 10 minutes 

  

Next add smoked catfish, smoked fish, smoked hake. Cook until the fish(Es) are all soft. This will also set the base for your cooking, once you get the stock right, it’s smooth sailing from there.

   

Once the fish(Es) are all soft, add the blended pepper and cook for 8 minutes 

  
Next add the crayfish

    

Followed by the locust beans. Allow to dissolve and permeate the soup for 4 minutes

 

Next add the okro. Do not cook for more than 2 minutes and PLEASE DO NOT COVER THE POT

  

After 2 minutes. It should still have a crunch. That’s were all the goodness comes from. 
   

Finally add the dried or fresh Utazi and cook for the final 2 minutes. 
    

That’s it, you are done. 

Enjoy the smokiness of this soup. It was so amazing. Sometimes less it more. 

Enjoy! 
    
   

That’s it from me today,

I’ll see you in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

