Egusi Peppersoup

 Urhobo Wadoo! Hello everyone. Welcome to a brand new month. It’s time to reflect and plan to the days and weeks ahead. No time like the present.

Today’s recipe is another one from the people of Delta (Urhobos to be precise) it’s also called owowoh soup, according to  my friend Stella.

I remember when I first came across this stew I was like, what?! Egusi and peppersoup. I just didn’t want to believe it can be made that way. But I decided to give it ago and wow. It is great. It’s like an inter tribal relationship between Yoruba and delta. The soup is amazing and oh so filling! 

I am learning everyday that there will be hurdles to cross when it comes to cooking and being innovative. You have to be willing to give it a go. You just need to try.

Anyways as I was cooking this stew, I was getting excited and awaiting the end result. Trust me when you cook this, you will be amazed. By the way for those who maybe wondering what Egusi is, it is called (melon seeds in English) 

Ok my lovely readers, let’s get started shall we

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup of ground Egusi 
  • Assorted meats
  • Smoked turkey (optional)
  • Dried hake (Panla)
  • Dry red pepper
  • Peppersoup spice 
  • Dried basil
  • Fresh basil (optional)
  • Ground Uziza seeds (optional)
  • Crayfish 
  • Onions
  • Knorr cubes 
  • Salt

UTENSILS

  • Medium sized pot
  • Wooden spoon
  • Measuring cup
  • Blender 

Prep time : 5 minutes 

Cooking time: 1:30-2hours

Method

Clean all the meats 

Next, add the assorted meats (except the smoked turkey into the medium sized pot)

Add sliced onions and Season with knorr cube and salt  accordingly (please be careful with the salt, just add in slightly until you are satisfied) 

Cover and cook for 5 minutes (at first)

  
Afyer 5 minutes, add water 

 
Add enough water to cook it    

After 35 minutes add the smoked turkey

 Add the peppersoup spice

  
Add the dry pepper and continue to cook until the meats are all soft. 

  
 
Next blend the ground Egusi with some of the stock from the cooking meats (you don’t have to do it this way, you can add just water, but for me I am always about flavour and I don’t to interfere with it 

  
  
Next add the blended Egusi to the cooking spiced meats

    
Mix well together and allow to cook on medium heat for 25 minutes (please be careful when cooking Egusi. If it is not properly cooked, it will make your tummy queasy)

 After 25 minutes, Add the basil. Mine was frozen, hence the dark colour 

  
Add the crushed scent leave

  
I added the crayfish last because it can make the soup salty if not careful, I added it sparingly. Allow to cook for 5 minutes

  
It’s ready to be taken off the heat.

  
It’s time to serve and enjoy this delicious soup

          

That’s it from me today. 

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O
  

 

Leave a Reply

