Garri Baked Chicken(GBC)

Hi everyone. I hope you are all doing good? I have yet another recipe made with Garri. Lol, I told you I wasn’t playing right.

I remember when I used to eat KFC, I loved their fried chicken. But after a while it got very sickening to eat let alone touch. The oil in it was crazy and also the whole coating just made it all the more tiring. This was about 5 years ago and I haven’t touched it since. 

Also because of health reasons I decided to clean up my eating g habits and trust me I am more better for it. I feel soooo good! 

So whilst craving chicken, and Garri, I thought what if I coat it with the chicken to make it crunchy. I was like hmmm, let me give that a try. Boom!!! It was off the hook. I also remembered I had spicy pepper crunch at home, I grounded some and rolled the chicken and Garri into it. Ah, it was amazing! Light bulb moment. 

Just think of it this way, when you decide to soak Garri and then accompany with chicken, more often than not, you simultaneously eat both at the same time. So it you know that Taste, this just makes it better. We should be able to give KFC a run for their money and also see if we can enter this into international cookbooks! Oh yes we can. And also its fit fam friendly! πŸ™‚ whoop whoop 

Ok my lovely readers lets get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS

  • Garri
  • White pepper
  • Black pepper
  • Knorr cube
  • Dry red pepper or paprika
  • Chilli flakes
  • Garlic powder
  • Ginger powder
  • Onion powder
  • 2 Eggs
  • Ehuru (African nutmeg) or Uziza seeds
  • Kuli kuli 

UTENSILS

  • 2 medium size bowls
  • 2 baking tray
  • Foil paper 

Prep time: 30 minutes

Baking time: 60 minutes 

Total time: 1 hour: 30 minutes 
Method: 

Clean the chicken, remove any excess hairs and fat. (Not a pretty site when it’s too fatty) 

Next, in a bowl, mix together knorr cube, garlic, ginger, and onion powder. Place the chicken in the mixture, rub it well and Let it marinade for about 30 minutes-1 hour or overnight. 

  
Whilst that is marinating, prepare the outer coat

Mix the Garri with the white pepper, black pepper, dry red pepper, Ehuru and kuli kuli. 

  
Crush the kuli kuli 

  

Next whisk the eggs.

  
Preheat the oven to 200 degrees (at first)


Now unto the coating process 

Back to the marinated chicken

You will need to do this piece by piece. 

Stage 1 

Take a piece of chicken   

Stage 2

Dip it in the egg

 
Stage 3

Then dip it in the Garri mixture. Make sure the Garri coats it well, because that’s where the other flavour is. 

      
Then place it on the foil paper. 

  
Repeat stage 1-3 until all the chicken has been used up. 

Place the coated in the oven and bake for the first 30 minutes

   
Now reduce the oven to 170 degrees

Next, check on the chicken, turn each piece over and continue to bake for another 30 minutes

 
  

By now it’s been an hour of baking. Turn the chicken back again in order to et the top part crispy

   

The chicken should be well cooked. It’s done. Remove from the heat and let it cool down before serving. 

Enjoy your Garri baked chicken. It’s so good!! And its gluten free πŸ™‚ (especially for those that are gluten intolerant) 

   
    
    
    
   

4 thoughts on “Garri Baked Chicken(GBC)

Leave a Reply

