Ofe Onugbu

Hello everyone. How are you all doing? So this recipe right here, has been in my draft for a while. I have been meaning to post it, but then I completely forgot to finish editing it. 

This soup, before I made it, I was filled with trepidation. Why? Because of the bitter leaves. I don’t like anything bitter, which I am sure applies to almost everyone. I kept on saying to myself I want to eat this soup, but don’t want to taste the bitterness? No way! 

So in pushed it back and back. Until I went online to research on how to clean bitterleaves without it leaving a bitter Taste in your mouth. Ding ding! I found the answer! I was so happy and I also found out that just because it’s called bitterleaves soup doesn’t necessarily mean it has to be neither. I have heard lots of variations about this soup…. 

As for me, I decided I will go with the main one and prepare it well. No one likes to eat a soup and start guessing. It’s best to see and know this is what you see eating. 🙂 

Ok, let’s get started shall we 
INGREDIENTS: 

  • 2 cups of dried bitter leaves
  • 1 soup spoon of palmoil
  • 1 wrap of Ogiri Okpei
  • Assorted meats 
  • Dried fish
  • Dried hake
  • Cocoyam
  • Crayfish 

UTENSILS: 

  • 2 medium sized pots
  • Wooden spoon
  • Food processor 
  • Sieve 

Prep time: 20 minutes 

Cooking time: 1 hour: 35 minutes 
Method: 

If you are using the dried leaves, these steps are very important. 

Step one: 

Put the dried leaves in a medium sized pot, add water end cook for the first 8 minutes. After 8 minutes, rinse. 

 
After rinsing, place the leaves back in the pot and boil again, this time for 5 minutes.   
  

It will be foamy and also the water will constantly change (see picture below)

  

After 5 minutes, drain the water. 

Next place the dried leaves in the food processor, (make sure the dough blade is attached) add a little water and switch it on. Let it work for 5 minutes. (This process allows the leaves to be washed and the bitter taste rid of: 
Next book your meats. Once alsmoist cooked add the dried fished and smoked crayfish. 
 

Whilst that is cooking, boil the cocky am with the skin on for 30 minutes. Once cooked, peel, chop and set aside. 
   

Back to the mests, add the palm oil and dried pepper. cook for 10 minutes. 
  
Once it’s cooked they get it should look like this:   
  

Next blend the cocoa am with as little water as possible.

Next add it to the meats in small quantities  and allow it dissolve. Do not be tempted to add it in large quantities or else with will clump up and it won’t look good. 
   

Once it melts, allow it to cook, it will thicken up gradually
  

Finally add the washed bitter leaves. Let it cook for 5 minutes. 
And then it’s done. Yum yum. The aroma is amazing.

 
  There you have it.  

That’s it from me today, 

I will see you all in my next post 
Love Duchess O

 

Leave a Reply

