Thai Coconut Soup

Hi everyone, hope you are all doing good? 

You all know I love coconut right? I love it, especially the water and milk.  So whilst gathering ingredients in what to make for another dish, my eyes locked on my coconut cuisine. I smiled because I know the other dish is about to be trumped! 

So I changed a few things around and decide to make this Thai coconut soup. Oh my goodness, it’s so fragrant, silky smooth and delicious! Burst of flavours in your mouth, you could be forgiven for thinking there is a party going on there. Lol. The lemon grass just makes it aromatic, ever since the first time inside it in a curry, I haven’t looked back since especially when I want to make any Thai inspired curry. 

If there is one ingredient to have in your spice panty, it should be lemon grass, you will thank me later for it. 

Ok, before I go on and non, let’s get started shall we πŸ™‚

INGREDIENTS

  • 6 Chicken thighs
  • 1 medium sized White onions 
  • 3 stalks of Spring onions 
  • 2 cloves Garlic (grated)
  • Thumb sized Ginger (grated)
  • Coconut milk 250 grams
  • 1 tablespoon of Olive oil
  • 1 cup of Chicken Stock
  • 2 Limes (juiced)
  • 1 tablespoon of Fish sauce (substitute with 1/2 a teaspoon of soy sauce)
  • 1 cup of Mixed peppers 
  • Lemon grass

UTENSILS: 

  • 1 medium sized pot
  • Hand grater 
  • Wooden spoon 

Prep time: 10 minutes 

Coking time: 40 minutes 

Total time: 50 minutes

Method: 

Slice the onions, and spring onions. 

Next grate the ginger and garlic and set them all aside. 

Remove the outer skin of the lemon grass and use only the bulb inside (see picture)

  

Next heat up the oil and then add all the chopped ingredients including the lemon grass. Let it fry for 2 minuyes. (Make sure you are stiring occasionally or else the garlic will burn
  

After 3 minutes, it will look like this. All the chopped ingredients will have softened. 
  

Next add the chicken stock. Allow it to simmer for 5 minutes 


After 5 minutes 

 
Next add the chicken,mix well, cover and cook in low heat for 20 minutes.   
  

After 20 minutes, add the line juice (I squeezed mine in or you can use a juicer to extract the juice and add it to the chicken)

  

Add the coconut milk and fish sauce or substitute (soy sauce) allow to simmer still on low heat for 10 minutes. 
 

Finally now add the mixed peppers. Simmer for 3 minutes and then remove from the heat. 

It’s ready to be served! The aroma should be tantalising your taste buds. I bet you can’t wait to dig in.

I served mine with some wild rice, oh so yum! 

There you go! Enjoy.
  
  
 

That’s it from me today.

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

