Mango curry

Hi guys! How are you all doing? It’s been a while since my last post, my apologies. Been so busy. But I am back now and ready to update you all on some of my latest posts. 

In Nigeria, I heard the price of tomato has gone up! Oh wow! I pray things get better for Nigeria and I don’t just mean on the price of tomatoes, I mean in all areas. Nigeria is blessed and the Lord will surely have mercy and favour Nigeria! 

I digress, so due to hike in tomato price, a lot of people have been wondering what to cook without tomatoes, well, let me tell you, there are loads to cook without tomatoes, from soups to stews and curries. It’s time to get creative and tantalise out taste buds!

So whilst on my quest for a new sauce, I remembered that I have been wanting to cook with mangoes, and then I said to myself make a mango curry! At first I was worried that it may come up sweet, but after I researched I was able to come up with ingredients Picked here and there to make my own combination and I must say it was amazing! Talk about versatility of a fruit! I love it so much and I will definitely be making it again and again. 

Ok led get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup of chopped mangoes. (It has to be ripe, but not too ripe
  • 1 tablespoon of dried garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon of ginger 
  • 1 tablespoon of Vinegar
  • 1/2 a tablespoon of Cayenne pepper
  • 1 medium sized clove of Fresh garlic 
  • 6 Chicken thighs
  • 300g of Coconut milk (you can use less if you want)
  • 1-2 tablespoons of Chilli flakes (based on your preference)
  • 1/2 a knorr cube
  • 1 tablespoon of Black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons of Olive oil or coconut oil 
  • Salt 
  • 1 medium sized onions 
  • Mixed peppers (this is optional, but it does make it very very appealing πŸ˜€) 

UTENSILS

  • Baking tray
  • Wok
  • Blender
  • Wooden spoon

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 1 hour

Total time: 1 hour: 15 minutes

Method

Blend the mango, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, ginger powder and vinegar together to form a smooth paste. Set aside. 

Next, Clean the chicken 

Next season the chicken with salt and black pepper. (Please do not be tempted to add any other seasoning. Salt and black pepper is just what you need to get that authentic taste of grilled chicken) 

Grill for 40 minutes 


Once grilled, remove the skin and set aside. (The skin helps keep it moist whilst grilling, so only remove it after it’s been cooked not before)


Next heat up the oil and add the sliced onions. Let it fry for 3 minutes. Stirring occasionally 


Next add the garlic, fry for 30 seconds (not more than that or else it will burn)

Add the chilli flakes, dry for a further 30 seconds

Then add the blender mango paste, stir well, allow it to cook for a minute

Then add the coconut milk


Next add the chicken, Reduce the heat it the lowest and allow it simmer slowly for 12 minutes. 


Finally then add the peppers, 

Add the knorr cube gradually (because you may not need it all, but you can adjust to your tastebuds preference

and simmer  for the last 3 minutes. 


Your mango curry is ready to be served! 

Trust me you will love it
Enjoy! 

That’s it from me today
I’ll see you all in my next post

LoveDuchess O

Leave a Reply

