Coconut Yam Pottage 

Hello everyone, how are you all doing? This is my first post for this month. So unlike me, lol. 

I have patiently waited for the day that I would make this recipe and share with you all. Oh my goodness! The creaminess and smoothness is unparalleled. You know anything coconut is always velvety and smooth. 

I love Asaro, I mean well made Asaro, especially does ones that does not have too much oil and pepper, just the right balance, so when I decided to make this, I made sure all the measurements will equate one another in order to achieve the taste that I want. 

This really got me excited, like I actually saved myself for this meal. I ate very little that day, so that I could enjoy this as it is meant to be enjoyed. 

I have simplified it as much as I could, and also made the step by step guide easy, so it’s joule be a breeze through for you all. 

Just relax and imagine you eating this at the end of the preparation. 

Ok let’s get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS:

  • Yam
  • 1 cup of palmoil
  • 2 large tatashe 
  • 1 large onions 
  • Mixed peppers (optional)
  • Goat meat
  • Coconut milk 400g
  • Knorr cube

Prep time: 20 minutes 

Cooking time: 2 hours (including boiling the meat)

Total time: 2 hours : 20 minutes 

Method: 

Boil the goat meat with onions and knorr cube. Please do not add curry or thyme. Once boiled, seive the stock, the. place the cooked meat in the oven and grill until nice and golden brown

Next heat up the palm oil, once hot(not smoking hot) add the slice onions and fry for 4 minutes on medium heat 

After 4 minutes, add the blended pepper. Allow it to fry for 20 minutes on low heat. Stirring occasionally.

It should look like this after 20 minutes. If it keep frying 🙂

Whilst the pepper is frying, boil the yam. Allow it to boil for 10 minutes (not more)

After 10 minutes, drain the water and set aside. 

Back to the sauce. Once it looks like this, it’s ready for use. 

Remove about two soupful of the sauce, set it aside. 

Then add the grilled meat to the remaining sauce. Mix it well together  and let it cook for 10 minutes on low heat

Back to the yam, now add the coconut milk to the yam


Then add the stock from cooked meat and  half a cup of water. 

Then add the sauce saved from earlier. Mix together and allow it cook on medium heat for 10minutes 

After 10 minutes, it should look like this. 

Once you have the consistency as the picture above, start mashing. But do not mash it all. 

It should look like this after mashing. Allow it to cook more for a few minutes

Then you should get this yummy creamy goodness 🙂 

Remove from the heat

Finally check the sauce, add the mixed peppers. Let it mix well into the sauce. A minute or two should do. I like the Peppers crunchy. 

It is ready to be served. 

Now plate up and enjoy this yummy goodness.

That’s it from me today

I’ll see you in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

