Black soup

Hello everyone how are you all? It’s been a while since I blogged. I just needed to take some time out. And I am glad I did. I feel refreshed and ready to take on the kitchen again ๐Ÿ™‚

So this soup has been a recipe that I have wanted to blog about, but the name kept on making me weary. I was like how will my followers react to this. Even the name, will it out then off? So I decided to kept the recipe aside. But it kept on staring back at me, and I was like this blog isn’t about you, it’s for people to learn from. 

With that in mind, I put my feelings aside and decided to give it ago. And I must say I enjoyed every mouthful! So so flavourful. If you love a good soup, this will be right up your alley. 

Ok lets get started shall we ๐Ÿ™‚

INGREDIENTS

  • Assorted meats
  • Dried fish
  • Smoked crayfish 
  • Crayfish
  • Dried hake (Panla, Optional)
  • Scent leaves 
  • Bitterleaves 
  • Palmnut extract 
  • Yellow atarodo or dried pepper

UTENSIKS

  • 2 Medium sized pot 
  • Wooden spoon 
  • Blender 

Prep time: 20 minutes 

Cooking time: 2 hours 

Total time: 2 hours : 20 minutes 

Method:

For the bitter leaves. Remove the stakes before proceeding to the next steps

Next add it to the food processor. (Make sure you attach the blade first.)

Add water and then use the butter to wash the leavs. (Don’t worry, it won’t blend yet) do that for 2 minutes 

After that, remove from the food processor, rinse and follow the same above process.

Finally rinse off and place in a blender 

Add little water and let it blend to a smooth paste (see picture)

Add the dried leaves to on pot, pour water enough to cover it and boil for 10 minutes 

After 10 minutes, rinse until the water is clear. Then add fresh water and boil again. This will ensure the leaves are throughly cleaned. Boil for another 10 minutes

After the second boil, remove from the heat and drain the water 



If you are using dried scent leaves and bitter leaves. Follow the next steps 
Soak the scent leaves in hot water to soften the leaves. Please remove any stalks found in the leaves. 

Boil the meats until it’s almost soft

Add the dry fish and smoked crayfish 

Add the blended pepper. Allow to cook for 10 minutes 

Next add the palmnut extract

Now add the blended leaves:::
I started off with the scent leaves. 

Next add the bitter leaves. 


Allow To dissolve into the soup (about 3 minutes)

Finally add th crayfish. ( I always add crayfish last because if you are not careful it can become overpowering and salty)

That’s it. It is done

Plate up and enjoy! 

That’s it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

 

2 thoughts on “Black soup

  1. Hi Please the link to the above does not appear to work. Thanks for all your good work and for sharing. God bless you

    >

    Like

    1. Hello Folakemi. The link is unavailable at the moment. I am working on the site, it will be ready very soon. Thanks so much for your kind words and God bless you too. X

      Like

Leave a Reply

