Atama soup

Hi everyone, how are you all doing? Today’s recipe is a popular native soup of the Efiks/Ibibios (southern part of Nigeria) 

The soup is similar to banga soup, but the addition of the Atama leaves and various spices sets the tone for this one. I have been wanting to make the soup, but I just couldn’t get a hold of Atama leaves or Uyayak. But thank God for mothers! 😀😀😀

As soon as I got the spices, I was jumping up for joy! Now I can finally add it to my collection of spices and also update my native soups for Efiks. I really enjoyed making this soup. The taste is so amazing. The Uyayak really makes the soup tasty. You have to try it to get what I am trying to portray here. 

Seafood is the ideal Option in coming this soup, but assorted meats also works fine
Ok let’s get started shall we 🙂

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup of shredded Atama leaves 
  • Assorted meats 
  • Stock fish
  • Dry fish
  • 1 Uyayak pod
  • Palm fruit concentrate 
  • Crayfish 
  • Knorr cube
  • Dry pepper 

UTENSILS

  • 2 medium sized pots
  • Wooden spoon

Prep
Method: 

Wash the Uyayak pod thoroughly before use. Ensure all dirts has been removed.

If using dry Atama leaves. Please soak to in warm water first to soften and then rinse well until the water is clean

Clean the meats. 

Next boil the meats with some sliced onions and knorr cube. Ensure t is well seasoned I order to avoid adding salt later on. (Your stock game has to be on point 😀)


Once the meat is soft enough, add the dry fish, stock fish and allow to cook until soft.


Next add the palm fruit concentrate. Allow it to dissolve well into the soup. (The oil will flow to the top) about 5 minutes 



Next add the dry pepper, crayfish and the Uyayak pod. Reduce the heat and allow to simmer slowly. This will allow the Uyayak  pod aroma seep well into the soup. Allow to cook for 10 minutes on low heat 


Finally now add the Atama leaves. Allow to cook for 5 minutes (I used the dry leaves, hence why I soaked it in hot water to let the leaves yield before adding it to the soup) 


It is done and ready to be served. 
BUT FIRST…..

REMOVE  the Uyayak pod 😀😀😀


Now you are ready to serve. 
The smell wafting through from the cooker is amazing, I can’t wait to dig in to this soup. 
Enjoy. 

That’s It from me today,

I’ll see you all in my next post,

Love Duchess O.

Leave a Reply

