Catfish Peppersoup

Hi everyone, how are you all doing? So I heard its rainy season in Nigeria. Well what better way to welcome it than a bowl of delicious and mellow catfish peppersoup. This peppersoup has the right amount of spice and heat. It’s a winner. I enjoyed making it. I had to remind myself everything should be eating in moderation. I was ready to have seconds and all. Lol. 

One of the few things to note about fish peppersoup is that less is more. If you use too much spice you will end up overpowering the fish. Fish is delicate and should be treated as such when Cooking and seasoning it. Fish has its own distinct flavour, spices are meant to enhance not overpower. With my recipe here, I was able to get the right balance. 

Let’s get started shall we πŸ™‚

Prep time: 15 minutes 

Cooking time: 25 minutes 

Total tome: 40 minutes 

INGREDIENTS

  • Catfish ( 6 pieces)
  • 1 medium sized Onions
  • 1/2 Habenero pepper
  • 3 tablespoons of Garlic oil 
  • A teaspoon of fresh or Dried Basil
  • 1 – 1 1/2 tablespoon of Peppersoup Spice
  • 1 1/2 Knorr cube (you can use more if you prefer)
  • 1 medium sized Uyayak pod
  • 2 cups of water 

    UTENSILS

    • 1 medium sized pot 
    • Chopping board 

    Method

    Chop the onions and the habenero pepper (I used half) 


    Wash the outer skin of the Uyayak thoroughly (it can really be dirty) slice it it half 


    Next Heat up the oil. ( I used my roasted garlic oil. You can find that Garlic Oil here 


    Once heated, remove the roasted garlic. 

    Next, Add the chopped onions and pepper. 

    Allow to fry for 5 minutes on low heat to release the flavour(s)

    Next add the water ,the peppersoup spice Uyayak pod and stock cube 


    Allow to boil on low heat for 20 minutes 


    Next add the cleaned cat fish.

    Allow to cook for 14 minutes 


    Finally add the fresh basil (fresh is better)  or just substitute with dried basil 


    Allow to cook for 1 minute and then remove from the heat. 


    It’s time to plate up. (Remove the UYAYAK pod first) 

    Serve hot with some nice homemade bread. I have a recipe for Peppersoup Bread. Be sure to check that out

    That’s it from me today, 

    I’ll see you all in my next post

    Love Duchess O

    Leave a Reply

    