Bolì with Spicy Seafood Sauce 

Hi everyone, hope you are all doing great? So this recipe has been on my mind since I got some smoked mackerel from the grocery shop. I had wanted to use it to make smoked mackerel salad for dinner, but then I discovered I had too much, so I decided to use it all up in another way that can last for a while. 

This sauce came up and I was like hmmm interesting. I kept on thinks of ways to make it awesome and steady to follow. I mean the last thing you want is someone to post the picture of the sauce and then you find out it’s complicated? No no no. Here on my blog I simplify things for everyone to follow. 

 Ok everyone, enough to talk and let’s get started shall we 🙂

INGREDIENTS 

  • 2 large Smoked mackerel fillets
  • Prawns 
  • 1 large tatashe
  • 2 cans of chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon of chilli flakes
  • Onions
  • Dried hake (panla)
  • Plantain

UTENSILS

  • 1 medium sized pot
  • I large pot 

Prep time: 20 minutes 

Cooking time: 40 minutes 

Total time: 1 hour 
Method: 

Boil the dried hake in salt water for 25 minutes. This will rid of any chemicals used in drying and also help soften it for use later 

Next chop both onions and roughly chop the tatashe

In a medium sized pan, heat up the oil 

Next add the sliced white onions and fry until very soft 

Once the onion is soft, add the chopped pepper. Allow it to fry for 5 minutes 

Next add the chopped tomatoes. Reduce the heat to medium and allow it to cook for 15 minutes 

Whilst the sauce is cooking grill the plantain


After 15 minutes add the shredded dried hake

The mackerel

the shrimps

And the red onions. Mix well and simmer on very low heat for 20 minutes 

After 20 minutes you should have something like this. Remove from the heat and set aside.


Plate up! 

It’s one to Enjoy! 


That’s it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

