Sweet and Sour Chicken 2.0

Hi everyone. This recipe I have already made before,but I only catered for two, so this time around I ensured the recipe covers more than two people. This will help you especially if you are serving more than two people. 

One thing I love about sweet and Sour is the sauce. Oh so yummy. I remember my first experience I wa like wow. To be honest Chinese meals are delicious. They do know how to make wicked sauces. If you love Chinese food, then you will get my drift.

But my issue with the sweet and Sour takeouts is that it’s always so so sweet. It’s very rare to find the sauce for sweet and Sour that isn’t so sweet. Like really sweet and sometimes too sticky. Hence why I have shied away from buying take away. 

For every recipe that I have orders in the past, all I just do now is research and make mind from scratch at home, which means I can also eliminate all the added MSG and GMO. please read up on it. I will do a post about it soon. 

Ok, now that we are 

  •  10 chicken thigh fillers 
  • 1 1/4 cup of tomato ketchup 
  • 3 tablespoons of vinegar 
  • 1/8 cup of soy sauce 
  • 3/4 cup of water 
  • 2 tablespoons of brown or demarera sugar 
  • 1 egg 
  • 6 tablespoons of corn flour (4 to mix with the chicken, 2 to add to the sauce)
  • 1 tablespoon of water (to mix the part of the corn flour) 
  •  1/2 a teaspoon of salt 
  • 1/2 of black pepper 
  • 1 tablespoon of Chinese five seasoning 
  • 1 red pepper 
  • I green pepper 
  • 1 yellow pepper 
  • 1 orange pepper 
  • 1 can of chopped pineapple 
  • 2 tablespoons of oil

UTENSILS: 

  • Wok 
  • Frying pan 
  • Wooden spoon 

The above will serve 4-5people. 

Let’s begin shall we 
Cut the chicken thighs into stripes and then cut into cubes. Season it with the Chinese five spice, salt and pepper.

Mix it all together and let it marinade for at least 30- 1 hour

After Marinading, add the eggs and mix it in

Then add the corn flour (4 tablespoons) and mix as well


Once it’s been Mixed it, heat up the oil


Once the oil is hot

Add the chicken and fry on each side for 5 minutes. Once it’s all been fried, remove from the pan, drain on a paper towel

In the same pan, remove some of the oil and leave just about a tablespoon. Once that is done, ass the peppers and pineapple. Fry for 3 minutes 

Then add the chicken

Now add the sauce mix, stir and let it cook for 3 minutes 

After 3 minutes, add the corn flour (mix it with 1 tbs of water first)

After adding the corn flour, it will thicken considerably. Let it cook for another 2 minutes and then take it off the heat. 

Serve once cooled a bit with Jasmine rice or just plain rice. 

Enjoy

That’s it from me today

I’ll see you all in my next post 

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

