Obe Ata Dindin stew 

Hi everyone, hope you are all having a great week. This is one recipe that I have been very very reluctant to make.. yes I said reluctant. Mainly because it involves a lot of frying in lots of oil. Now do you see why I am very reluctant. I know my blog isn’t all 100 percent healthy meals, but I am always an advocate of using less oil in cooking, less sugar, grilling and not frying. Yes I know we want to enjoy the meals, but let’s try to make it less of  a health hazard later on. Health is wealth.

Ok I digressed there a bit, but I am sure you get my drift. So back to this amazing stew. Goodness! It was so so delicious, I tell you. The aroma whilst cooking it was just awesome. I decided to use less condiments as you will Notice  when you read the ingredients.
For this type of stew you have to be careful not to overpower the stew or else, you won’t like it at all. Sometimes certain herbs tends to bring out the flavour of a stew, whilst other spices just over powers it. In this stew I used two complementary herbs just to give it the right balance and that amazing taste. For real you would love this stew.

Ok let’s begin shall we 🙂

  • Assorted beefs (already pre cooked)
  • 8 large tatashe
  • 2 large onions
  • 3 medium-sized tomatoes
  • 3 pieces of rodo
  • 1 Tbs Thyme
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • 1 tablespoon of grated Ginger
  • 1 Bayleaf
  • 4 Eggs
  • 2 Knorr cubes
  • 2 cups of beef stock
  • 1 cup of oil (you can add more, but please make sure you decant most of it if not all after cooking)

Utensils

  • 1 medium-sized pot
  • Chopping board
  • Baking tray
  • Blender
  • Cooking spoon

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cooking time: 1 hour

Total time: 1 hour: 30 minutes

Note: please see method 1 and 2 before you begin.

If your beef is already cooked, the prep and cooking time will apply to you… (just go straight to method 2)

But if you haven’t cooked the meats yet, please allocate another hour and then go to method 1

Method 1: (those that haven’t boiled their meats) 

boil the meats with one of the onions, ginger, garlic and 1 knorr cube. Once cooked, sieve the stock and set aside.

Once done then proceed to method 2

Method 2: (those that have booked their meats)

Roughly chop all the peppers and 1/2 of the last onion.

Place it in a baking tray and grill for 25 minutes

Whilst that is grilling, add the cooked beef(s) to another tray and also grill for 25 minutes

As both items are grilling, cook the rice and boil the eggs in order to save time.

After 25 minutes, remove both the pepper and beef from the grill


Roughly blend the pepper mix with 2 cups of the beef stock. See my note below
(This method saves lots of time whilst frying. Why you ask? Normally when you fry stew, you tend to add stock after Its been fried. This method makes cooking time longer because you have to wait for the liquid to dry up and then continue frying 

However if you blend the stock with the pepper, you save lots of time by frying just once, from the onset and also helps add flavour quickly


Heat up the oil in a medium sized pot, once hot, add the remaining onions (sliced)


Once the onions start to brown slightly, add the blended pepper


Then add the blended pepper, and bay leaf. allow it to mix well and then reduce the heat to allow it slowly fry for 20 minutes



After 20 minutes, add the grilled meats.
Then add the thyme. Don’t skip this please.



Mix well and cook further for another 10 minutes.


Switch off the heat, remove the bay leaf and allow the stew to rest.

Yes I said rest. If you want to enjoy this stew allow it to rest well. Trust me it makes loads of sense. After resting PLEASE… decant the oil. PLEASE (apologies for the caps, I just had to make it clear.

Enjoy!

If you notice in the picture below that there is still some oil peeking out… this is after I tried to decant the oil. So I am sure you see why I am so adamant about removing the oil.

Serve with rice and plantain fried in less oil.


That’s it from me today

I’ll see you in my next post

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

