Brown Stew Chicken

Hi everyone, how are you all doing? This recipe has been on my mind for almost three years now. Yup. It has been that long. I kept it the draft, but I just never got to make it until I had loads of chicken to use up and I was wondering on how many ways to use it apart from grilling or bbq(ing). It was then I remembered that I hadn’t made this recipe and now would be a great time to make it. 

So I researched on it and let me tell you, there are loads of variations of this stew. Some off base, some with too many ingredients and some were just right. So what I did was study what they all had in coming and then I just utilised the information and made this simplified version that would be very easy to make, but not compromising on the key ingredients. 

The name brown Stew is derived from the colour and to get that, you need to use brown sugar. Now for me I was worried, because I didn’t want to use too much sugar  in my cooking at all. So I found another key ingredient which can be used in place of brown sugar and that’s browning

But here is the thing…. browning is basically melted brown sugar with added water. I know right. I am stillback to the sugar matter. 

But however the good news is that the amount of browning needed to the ratio of sugar (tbs) is less. With browning you just need about a teaspoon to just a tablespoon. However with brown sugar you need two tablespoons of that. You see why? 

So on here I have included a photo instructions on how to make browning. 

Source: YouTube: (cute2junie)

PLEASE BE CAREFUL, USE LOW HEAT AND WARM WATER (to mix)

How to make browning 

  • Heat up 3-4 tablespoons of brown sugar in a medium sized pan.
  • Continue stirring with a wooden spoon until sugar has melted
  • Keep stirring as the sugar will change colour from light brown, to dark. 
  • Once dark, add a little bit of warm water to it and continue to mix. 
  • Let it cool down completely before you use 

That’s your browning done! 

Ok let’s get started shall we 

INGREDIENTS 

  • Chicken 
  • Lime or lemon
  • 2 tablespoons of Ketchup 
  • Sliced Carrots
  • 1 tbs Onion powder
  • 1 tbs of Garlic powder
  • 1 tbs of Ginger powder
  • 1 tbs of Smoked paprika powder
  • 1 tbs All purpose seasoning 
  • 1 tbs of All spice seasoning 
  • 2 large Spring onions (use both white and green part) 
  • 1 medium sized White onions
  • Half a Yellow pepper
  • Half a Green pepper
  • Half a Red pepper 
  •  Browning or 2 tbs of brown sugar 
  • Oil
  • 2 cups of Water 
  • Salt to taste. 

UTENSILS

  • 2 medium sized bowl
  • 1 heavy duty pot
  • Wooden spoon

Prep time: 10 mins (cutting up the other ingredients)

2 hours/overnight(marinating 

Method. 

Remove the skin from the chicken and clean with lime juice or lemon juice. Rinse afterwards 

Next add the dry ingredients (paprika, garlic, Ginger, onion powder, all spice, all purpose seasoning) mix together and marinade for 2 hours of preferably overnight 


Next get the chopped vegetables ready


Now add the vegetables to the chicken

Then add the browning sauce 

Mix thoroughly

Once mixed, heat up the oil. Once hot, add the chicken and fry to 3 minutes on each side. 

Some would prepefer to brown the chicken for longer, but I didn’t want that, as I am still trying to keep it healthy a bit -and not saturate the chicken with too much oil

After 3 minutes (remove from the oil and decant most of the oil. Just save at least a tablespoon 

The pot will look like this after you remove the chicken, that is absolutely fine. You will need it for flavour, so make sure you use the same pan to continue cooking 

Now add the vegetables, mix and let it steam/fry for 3 minutes 

After 3 minutes..

Next add the chicken

Add the ketchup and water. Mix well and cover the pot. Cook on low heat for 20 minutes. Add salt to taste

After 20 minutes, it would have gone darker (excuse the not so great picture)

Allow it to cook for a further 10 minutes 

After that the sauce will be thicker and darker. 


That’s it. 

Remove from the heat and let it settle for a bit. 

I served mine with rice and peas (not the green peas.. it’s also known as kidney beans). I have a recipe for rice and peas on the blog, be sure to check it out. It just serve it with plain white rice. 

Enjoy!


That’s it from me today 

I’ll see you all in my next post 

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

