Oxtail Curry 

Hi guys. How are you all doing? Today I’m making a special. I have been wanting to make this a long time. I actually forgot that I had oxtail. Really. During the week, as I was thinking of what to make for the weekend then I remembered I had oxtail. It just had to be curry. I didn’t want to make oxyail Stew, as I wanted a bit of kick, hence why curry took over. 

So before we proceed, let me just say this isn’t Jamaican, Caribbean or Trinidadian. This is a combination of flavours that I have chosen to make once seriously delicious curry that will keep your household or guest asking for more. All I did was work with my ingredients and here we are.

I can’t wait to share it with you all.
Lets begin shall we 

INGREDIENTS :

  • Oxtail curry
  • 4 Scallions (green onions)
  • 2 Scotch bonnet peppers
  • 1 large Onions
  • Thumb sized Ginger
  • 2 cloves Garlic
  • 3 tbs of curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon of All spice
  • 1 teaspoon of al purpose seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon of Oxtail seasoning 
  • 2 cups of Beef stock (I used  measuring cups) 
  • 3 medium sized Chopped tomatoes
  • Half a cup of Coconut milk
  • Vegetable oil

UTENSILS :

  • 1 Large pot
  • 1 wooden spoon
  • Chopping board
  • Spatula

Method:

First of all, clean the oxtail meat

Chop the onions, Scallions, peppers, garlic and ginger. 

Add it to the goat meat and then season with all the spices. 


work all of the ingredients into the meat. Seal tightly and refrigerate overnight.
But if you don’t have that much time, marinate for at least 3 hours.
After marinating, 


put the pot on fire, add the oil and heat it for about a minute. While its heating up, remove only the oxtail from the marinade ensure all the chopped ingredients are not sticking to the oxtail
Add the oxtail meat to the pot and seal it until its brown on both sides. (About 3 minutes) Remove the oxtail and set aside.

Sealing helps lock in the flavours even more, so ensure you DO NOT skip this step 


Next add the remaining marinade ingredients and fry for 5 minutes. 


Then add the oxtail back into the pot, add the plum tomatoes and pour 1 cup of the stock (save the other cup for later) 



Turn on the lowest heat and let it cook for 1hours and 15 minutes.

By now all the ingredients should have all cooked properly and the meat tender.

Finally add the of coconut milk, and the last cup of stock


Ensure the heat is still on low and cook for another 1 hour.

Add salt to taste if and where necessary.

After the final 1 hour, increase the heat a bit to allow the sauce thicken up. This should be done within 10-15 minutes 

P.s the curry should be semi thick after you increase the heat, if its not that means you have added too much water/stock. So you may have to continue cooking on medium Heat till it thickens 
That’s it, you are done.

Very well done to you

Serve with plain white rice or with rice and peas. (Rice and peas recipe is on my blog)


That’s it from Me

I’ll see you all in my next post 

Love Duchess O

Leave a Reply

