Homemade

Ofe Oha

Hi everyone. Today I have a recipe for Oha soup. I have been wanting to make this soup for a really long time, but I couldn’t find the leaves. All the ones I found were not that great. I asked my mum to help me get some and she sent it over. What would we do without our mum’s eh? 😀

But guess what, the day I needed to make it, I didn’t have any cocoyam at home 🙄. Lol, so I quickly went out and got some.. Cocoyam makes it thick and lush. Really really lush.

The Oha leave is amazing. I can’t believe I have been missing out for so long. By the time I was done I couldn’t wait to dig in. Yessss it’s that good. The velvety smoothness of the coco Yam just takes it to a whole new level, trust me you don’t want to miss this. 

Ok enough talk, let’s get started shall we 
INGREDIENTS

  • Oha leaves
  • 2 medium size Coco yam 
  • 1 wrap of Ogiri Okpei 
  • 1 tbs Dry pepper
  • 1 tbs Crayfish 
  • Dried fish 
  • 1 spoonful of Palmoil 
  • 1 tsp of Uziza seeds
  • 1 tsp of Cameroon pepper (optional)
  • Assorted meats of your choice 
  • Onions
  • Knorr cube

UTENSILS

  • 2 medium sized pot
  • Small mortar 
  • Wooden spoon

Prep time: 20 minutes 

Cooking time: 2 hours

Method: 

If you are using coco Yam, boil it now. 
Once boiled, gently peels off the skin and mash. Set aside for use later


Clean the meats

Next boil with enough water, onions and  Knorr cube (billion cube)  boil until its is almost tender. (This is because there are still other ingredients to be added. you don’t want to over boil the meats) 

Next add the dry pepper(s) allow to dissolve  and incorporate into the stock for 5 minutes. 


Add the palm oil. Please allow the palmoil to cook well, if not the soup will have a tongue curdling taste which isn’t that great to be honest. 

Now add the ogiri okpei. You may not like the aroma you get when you open it from the pack, but trust me, what is does to your soup is nothing short of amazing. Believe that! 

Allow it to dissolve into the soup and let it simmer for 2 minutes 


Add mashed cocoyam. Add it gradually so that it can dissolve into the soup. 


Next add the uziza seeds, (which I later pounded before adding to the soup. (Very very important) 


Finally add the crayfish. I added the crayfish last because crayfish has the tendency to overpower a dish if not added at the right time and in the right quantity.

Now add the Oha leaves. ( I used dried ones, hence the dark colour)

 

The aroma that was coming from the pot was amazing, all the ingredients coming together to make one amazing pot of deliciousness!

Let it rest a bit before serving. It is very essential for every meal prepared to be rested before serving. It makes a whole difference to the overall taste of the food. 

It is ready to plate up

Enjoy

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.